Author Topic: Multiplayer Discussion Kickoff Thread  (Read 20256 times)

lodemia

Multiplayer Discussion Kickoff Thread
« on: 19 June 2006, 21:47:18 »
First, an introduction...  I'm fairly new to Glest (about three months of use) and I absolutely love the game.  But I really miss multiplayer capabilities.  So much that I want to start developing them.

I've seen all the other threads on Multiplayer, and they end up being begging threads.  I started thgis thread to discuss the challenges and possible solutions for developing a glest multiplayer game.  I've downloaded the code and browsed it, and I must say, it's truly an example of good programming style. Kudos to the team.

I've done a lot of server programming (I work for a software firm), however never for games.  So while this is a first for me, I'm already somewhat familiar with what will need to be done.

Before I set out to startr writing code, I'd like to find out if there are already any projects underway to provide this functionality.  I pulled the latest files from the CVS and there's no real multiplayer support in them as of yet.

From what I've seen.  Some of the challenges:

1.  Glest is fairly extensible.  This means that the factions must be the same across all the clients connecting to the server. Need either a way to enforce this or a way to synchronize the client machines with the factions on the server.  I think that the server would be the limiting agent for the factions, but certainly open to ideas here.  I can't see starting a game and having to wait 20 minutes while all the 3d models are synched.  Having said that, I do consider it a novel idea to "baseline across all connected players."