Author Topic: How can I compile...?  (Read 13995 times)

martenzo

  • Guest
How can I compile...?
« on: 21 November 2006, 18:22:31 »
How can I compile if mk/linux/configure doesn't exist :/ ? I really think someone needs to update the README.linux file.

I really like the game, though, Almost got it working with wine. It works, but it immedeately crashes if someone starts building a structure or training a unit.
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by martenzo »

newbie_xyz

  • Guest
Re: How can I compile...?
« Reply #1 on: 21 January 2007, 21:03:52 »
Quote from: "martenzo"
How can I compile if mk/linux/configure doesn't exist :/ ? I really think someone needs to update the README.linux file.

I really like the game, though, Almost got it working with wine. It works, but it immedeately crashes if someone starts building a structure or training a unit.


Hi, I encounter the same problem.
After downloading  the source from sf.net (glest_source_2.0.0.zip), then I start the command by following README.linux instruction. However, when performing the steps "./configure", it reply "command not found" (I guess that's because there is no file named configure in mk/linux folder). So I try other files autogen.sh, but it echo
========== autoget.sh error ========== beg
: command not found
autogen.sh: line 16: syntax error near unexpected token `|'
autogen.sh: line 16: `  | sed -e 's/configure.ac:[0-9]*:AC_SUBST:\([^:]*\).*/\1 '= "@\1@" ;/g' \
========== autoget.sh error ========== end


When exec makerelease.sh, it issues error
========== makereelase.sh beg ==========
: command not founde 2:
makerelease.sh: line 3: autoconf: command not found
: command not founde 6:
-reating source package in release/glest-source
: command not founde 8:
find: ‘-exec’ no parameter
find: ‘-exec' no parameter
: command not founde 15:
cp: can't stat ‘mk/autoconf/wxwin.m4\r’: no such file or directory
: command not founde 19:
: no such file or directory 21: ./autogen.sh
: invalid optionline 22: cd: -
cd: usage: cd [-L|-P] [dir]
: command not founde 23:
: no such file or directory 24: cd: release
========== makerelease.sh end ==========

how to solve this problem?? do i miss any file ?

hope someone can do  me any help

i appreciate any suggestion.

thank you very much.

btw, env i use is debian sarge 3.1
 kernel 2.6.16
gcc 4.1.2
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by newbie_xyz »

Bj

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 6 February 2007, 16:35:06 »
Hi there. I finally got glest to compile on my Debian Linux Box.

here are the steps I took:

0.) unpack the source and enter the directory
source/mk/linux/ - directory

1.) remove any trailing CR (Cariage-Return - Char Hex 0D) from the following Files:

source/mk/linux/autogen.sh
source/mk/linux/mk/autoconf/config.sub
source/mk/linux/mk/autoconf/config.sub
source/mk/linux/mk/jam/*
source/mk/linux/glest.ini

- In order not to do this by hand, I wrote a small ruby-script (should be reproducable in any language). I attached it at the end of the message

- In source/mk/linux/glest.ini there are 2 charakters at the end of each line. No Idea what this a good for... you'll have to run the script over it twice.

- since Linux does not use this chars to end a line, they are probably remains from editing the file with a Windows-Editor.

2.) running autogen.sh

-> should yield a conigure-file

3.) running configure

- The configure script complains about everything you need to install additionally (like the libopenal and libopenal-dev packages etc.)

-> should yield a Jamfile (equivalent to a Makefile)

4.) run jam

Note: If this yields errors, you should run it with

jam -j 1 -q

This makes it behave somewhat more similar to make, so you can find the errors more easily.

-> should yield a glest binary in source/mk/linux

5.) unpack glest-data into the source/source directory

6.) copy the glest-binary and the glest.ini from source/mk/linux to source/source/glest_game

- otherwise it will not be able to find some files

7.) run glest

If it runs -> congratulations !

otherwise:

If it yields a "Font not found"-Exception:

Edit the glest.ini to use a font that is installed on your computer (FontConsole, FontDisplay & FontMenu). I chose ("variant"). You should delete all of this -*-*-*-stuff

If it yields a "could not set video mode"-Exception:

Edit the glest.ini to use a more resolution more suitable to your Graphics Card. The Parameters interesting here are ColorBits, DepthBits, ScreenWidth & ScreenHeight.


Hope this helps,
  Bj



== BEGIN SCRIPT ==
#!/usr/bin/ruby

require 'fileutils'

ARGV.each do |fname|

outfname = "#{fname}.stripped"

unless fname
    puts "Filename missing"
    exit
end

f = File.open(fname)
out = File.open(outfname, "w")

f.each_line do |l|
    out.puts l.chop
end

out.close
f.close

FileUtils::mv(fname, "#{fname}.old")
FileUtils::mv(outfname, fname)

end

== END SCRIPT ==
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by Bj »

velcroman

  • Guest
Thanks Bj
« Reply #3 on: 10 March 2007, 09:25:05 »
I think there is a minor typo shown for removing the CRs...

You listed "source/mk/linux/mk/autoconf/config.sub" twice. I think the second one should have been "source/mk/linux/mk/autoconf/config.guess".

Anyway, I am past that stage now. I am just stuck at the configure error message...
checking for X... no
configure: error: "Please install X11 libraries and headers."

I am trying to compile on Ubuntu Edgy AMD64 and seem to have all of the X11 libs etc. already installed.

Any ideas ?
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by velcroman »

v.v.b.

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 11 March 2007, 15:46:19 »
I've discovered in Internet more simple way to removing CRs:

col -bx < config.sub > config.sub1

I've had problems with CRs to build Glest from source also. But after that I've download glest-2.0.0-5.fc6.src.rpm, which contain patches (unicode, gcc41 and one script) AND (!!!) spec file to build glest. Now I don't need to remove all these nasty CRs. I'm simply zipping all sources, put them and patches to SOURCE directory, and spec file to SPECS directory, and give command like this:
rpmbuild -ba glest.spec
and voila -- I have new RPM.
after this:
rpm -e --nodeps glest (it's because of crossreference dependece of glest and glest-data RPMs).
rpm -ivh glest (in RPM/i386 folder).
That's all...
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by v.v.b. »

jociel

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: 27 May 2007, 15:42:39 »
I was compiled in Ubuntu Edgy Amd64 from the source at svn and was replaced utopia in glest.ini by helvetica. To compile, use the following commands at trunk/mk/linux directory:

find . -type f -exec dos2unix {} \;
./autogen.sh
./configure
jam

I needed to edit the file "glest_game/../shared_lib/include/../include/graphics/particle.h" and remove extra qualification in the following definition:
static Trajectory strToTrajectory(const string &str);

I needed to remove the file "/build/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/optimize/glest_game/types/command_type.o' and rerun the jam command more than once.

Now, the game has a problem: when I click on the first option on menu, after the glest presentation, I get the following error:
<quote>
Couldn't process event: Node "camera" doesn't have 1 children named "custom-game-position"

Tree: camera (start-position root-position about-position config-position info-position settings-position start-rotation root-rotation about-rotation config-rotation info-rotation settings-rotation )
</quote>

Any idea?
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by jociel »

Solifugus

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: 5 June 2007, 15:32:41 »
I fixed everything that was relatively simple.. but does anyone know what to do about this error?

./configure: line 6235: syntax error near unexpected token `,'
./configure: line 6235: `XIPH_PATH_VORBIS(, AC_MSG_ERROR([Please install vorbis]))'

The configure script has these two lines in it that look wrong:

XIPH_PATH_VORBIS(, AC_MSG_ERROR([Please install vorbis]))
XIPH_PATH_OGG(, AC_MSG_ERROR([Please install ogg/vorbis]))

Earlier, the "autgen.sh" script gave this output:
aclocal...
mk/autoconf/pkg.m4:5: warning: underquoted definition of PKG_CHECK_MODULES
  run info '(automake)Extending aclocal'
  or see http://sources.redhat.com/automake/auto ... ng-aclocal
generating Jamconfig.in ...
autoconf
Updating Source symlinks...
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by Solifugus »

jociel

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: 16 December 2007, 01:36:08 »
Try to remove the "mk/linux" directory and use "svn update" to update the code.
Try the steps again, as follow at "mk/linux" directory:

./autogen.sh
./configure
jam -a

The binary "glest" will be created in "mk/linux" directory.

unpack glest-data into the "trunk/source" directory and copy the glest-binary and the glest.ini from "trunk/mk/linux" to "trunk/source/glest_game".
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by jociel »

faulkes

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: 21 December 2007, 16:16:19 »
Quote from: "jociel"
Now, the game has a problem: when I click on the first option on menu, after the glest presentation, I get the following error:

Couldn't process event: Node "camera" doesn't have 1 children named "custom-game-position"

Tree: camera (start-position root-position about-position config-position info-position settings-position start-rotation root-rotation about-rotation config-rotation info-rotation settings-rotation )

Any idea?


No Idea but I get the same after an svn build, I can play the scenarios but I can use the other menu options (other than the actual "options" one).

There a fix or an idea as to what is going on here?

Faulkes
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by faulkes »

hailstone

  • GAE Team
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: 21 December 2007, 21:59:25 »
@faulkes: for the solution to that go to http://www.glest.org/glest_board/viewtopic.php?t=3073
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by hailstone »
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

faulkes

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: 22 December 2007, 03:37:44 »
Quote from: "hailstone"
@faulkes: for the solution to that go to http://www.glest.org/glest_board/viewtopic.php?t=3073


Many thanks, that did the trick, this information should be either fixed in the source or documented somewhere visible for the new people (just my opinion)

Michael
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by faulkes »

hailstone

  • GAE Team
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: 30 December 2007, 15:35:56 »
The problem isn't in the source but I agree that it should be documented or the data files updated.
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by hailstone »
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

sharpe

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: 31 December 2007, 22:47:02 »
I had this problem with './configure' as well:

./configure: line 6235: syntax error near unexpected token `,'
./configure: line 6235: `XIPH_PATH_VORBIS(, AC_MSG_ERROR([Please install vorbis]))'

I have no idea what svn update is, how would I fix this?
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by sharpe »

hailstone

  • GAE Team
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
-
« Reply #13 on: 1 January 2008, 03:09:12 »
To get the latest sourece follow the SVN instructions.
https://docs.megaglest.org/GetGlest

Try commenting out those lines (ie. with # at start of lines)
« Last Edit: 18 June 2016, 13:07:37 by filux »
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

sharpe

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #14 on: 1 January 2008, 17:32:21 »
Svn worked, but now, after I copied the "glest" executable to /trunk/source/glest_game, I get this:

Exception: Couldn't set video mode 1024x768 (32bpp 0 stencil 32 depth-buffer). SDL Error is: Couldn't find matching GLX visual

After I replace the glest.ini in /trunk/source/glest_game with the glest.ini from /trunk/mk/linux, the screen goes black as if the game was going to load, but then reverts back to normal. Terminal displays:

Exception: Font not found.
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by sharpe »

hailstone

  • GAE Team
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #15 on: 2 January 2008, 00:54:21 »
It seems like you've copied the binary to the source glest_game directory not the glest_game with the data in it. If you don't have this read http://hailstone3.truefreehost.com/?p=5
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by hailstone »
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

 

anything