Author Topic: Multiplayer Development of Glest  (Read 12089 times)

AF

Multiplayer Development of Glest
« on: 24 November 2007, 02:00:53 »
Hey, I'm tom, known usually by my alias AF, I have spent quite a bit of time coding in open source game projects and I'm in my second year of a computer games tech degree in the UK.

Code: [Select]
[img]http://spring.clan-sy.com/res/logobar.jpg[/img]
As much as the whole business of competence is off topic, I believe either way it is tied to multi player whether you like it or not. I come from the spring community, another free RTS for windows and linux, however spring is GPL, and is open and community driven unlike glest. Spring took the opposite path to glest and implemented multiplayer before single player. Yes we had human versus human games a year before we had skirmish AIs.

So, at some point you guys are going to have to come up with a lobby system to manage games. A gamespy/msn zone/steam/xbox live of sorts.

You guys aren't alone here in this predicament. The TA3D engine is about 3-4 weeks behind you in implementing multi player and they're facing identical issues. They too have a free open source outset and value clean code, and they too took the same path as you guys. Sadly their developer pool was marginalized by the older spring community which directly competed with them.

[img]http://ta3d.darkstars.co.uk/ta3d.jpg[/img]
So eventually you're all going to get sick of passing around IPs and port numbers. And then there's the whole debacle of desync and Network address translation connection issues. And don't deny these will happen. It happened to spring. It happened to Total Annihilation in 1997, it even happened to certain Supreme Commander patches. Go ahead look at GPGNet changelogs (yah gpgnet is another lobby program).

So what did they do over at the spring project? How have they dealt with multiplayer games the previous 2 years?