Author Topic: AI Sugestions  (Read 2114 times)

daniel.santos

AI Sugestions
« on: 14 January 2008, 04:58:13 »
Maybe I'm more artistically oriented than development, but this is some of the most beautiful code that I've seen in a long time!  I wish the slop I shovel at work looked one tenth this good, rather than looking like somebody threw up in their code editor.  Martiño, you are a true artist!  I'm new to this project and I haven't looked though the sources too much yet, I have a few suggestions for high difficulty AI:
  • Randomize attack paths:  Make the approach that is taken for the massive attack rule vary.  It appears (in the 2.0.1 AI at least) that attacks generally come from a predictable path once the enemy base discovers your camp.  This makes it easier to anticipate the attacks and setup strategic defenses on those borders, leaving other borders unguarded with impunity. The scouting/patrol rule should endeavor to discover more routes to the enemies' camp(s).
  • Harassment: When military units are limited, but an enemy base has been located, small contingents sent in carefully can moderately disrupt harvesting.  The main goal of this type of attack is to target workers and other vulnerable units, but trying not to get killed unless the pay-off (i.e., disruption) appears high.
  • Distraction: This is a bit of an extension from randomizing the direction of attack.  Once alternate routes to an enemy base are discovered, and preferably at opposite ends of their base, a small  "suicide-mission" force can be sent in from one side, shortly followed by a massive attack on another.  The opponent will likely send the bulk of their military units to meet the distraction and leave other borders to their base vulnerable.