Author Topic: More problems (with modding)  (Read 3949 times)

erandur

  • Guest
More problems (with modding)
« on: 23 February 2008, 15:01:24 »
I wanted to create a mod using Windows and 3ds Max. But for a lot of reasons, this seems pretty much impossible. I got to create the models in 3ds then, export them to blender, apply textures in blender, export as .xml, go to linux to convert them to .g3d...

Because:
The current .g3d exporter for 3ds max is dated (3ds max 7)
If you export a textures model in 3ds max to blender, you loose all the textures.
And I can't get the glexemel win32 to work...

So I don't know what to do now, I could learn Blender, and do everything on Linux. But I'd be a shame to not use software I've paid $3500 for...
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by erandur »

martiño

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,095
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: 23 February 2008, 18:08:43 »
Yeah, glexemel uses specific linux stuff to parse XML so it won't compile on win32.

If you want i can send u the exporter source code and VC project so you can compile it using a newer version of 3dsmax, because as far as i know the plugin only supports max7-8. I don't have a copy of 3dsmax 2008, and the trials don't include the sdk.

Martiño.
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by martiño »

erandur

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 23 February 2008, 19:40:20 »
Quote from: "martiño"
Yeah, glexemel uses specific linux stuff to parse XML so it won't compile on win32.

If you want i can send u the exporter source code and VC project so you can compile it using a newer version of 3dsmax, because as far as i know the plugin only supports max7-8. I don't have a copy of 3dsmax 2008, and the trials don't include the sdk.

Martiño.

I could try to compile a newer version (for 3ds max 9). But I have no idea how! :)   But you can send it anyway, I have to learn it sooner or later, and this might be a good exercise.
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by erandur »

martiño

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,095
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: 23 February 2008, 20:57:56 »
Do you have visual studio on your machine?
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by martiño »

erandur

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 23 February 2008, 21:08:00 »
Quote from: "martiño"
Do you have visual studio on your machine?

I have Visual Studio 2008 Express (C++).
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by erandur »

martiño

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,095
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: 23 February 2008, 22:23:56 »
It's here:

http://www.glest.org/files/misc/g3d_export.zip

It includes the VC project, you will also need the shared_lib source files, either from the svn or from the latest code package. You will have to change the project settings so the include and lib files point to the right 3DS max folder. Hopefully the exporter will just compile, however the interface might have changed slightly since 3dsmax8, and you might need to do some changes to the source code.
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by martiño »

erandur

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: 23 February 2008, 22:36:06 »
Quote from: "martiño"
It's here:

http://www.glest.org/files/misc/g3d_export.zip

It includes the VC project, you will also need the shared_lib source files, either from the svn or from the latest code package. You will have to change the project settings so the include and lib files point to the right 3DS max folder. Hopefully the exporter will just compile, however the interface might have changed slightly since 3dsmax8, and you might need to do some changes to the source code.

Looks like I'll know what to do the next few weeks! Don't expect immediate results, this is one of my first little projects. :).
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by erandur »

martiño

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,095
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: 24 February 2008, 00:12:53 »
Thanks, if you need help just ask!
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by martiño »

erandur

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: 24 February 2008, 14:51:35 »
Quote from: "martiño"
Thanks, if you need help just ask!

It says
...\g3d_export\sources\g3d_exporter.h(4) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'max.h': No such file or directory
And I've checked, but max.h isn't included in the source package neither... So either I made another big mistake, or.. well.. guess I did. :D

By the way, how come nobody else ever tried to do this? Is it that hard, or...
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by erandur »

martiño

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,095
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: 24 February 2008, 15:53:42 »
max.h is included in 3DStudio max, i think it is in the maxsdk folder, you need to change the project properties so the include folders point to the right place.

It is a simple process once you know what you are doing, but we don't have max 9 that's the problem.
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by martiño »

erandur

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: 24 February 2008, 16:00:22 »
Quote from: "martiño"
max.h is included in 3DStudio max, i think it is in the maxsdk folder, you need to change the project properties so the include folders point to the right place.

It is a simple process once you know what you are doing, but we don't have max 9 that's the problem.

And i have max 9, and don't know what I'm doing! :D Just enter the file path somewhere?

Edit: and I don't seem to have a maxsdk folder anywhere.
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by erandur »

martiño

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,095
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: 24 February 2008, 16:28:02 »
The maxsdk folder only gets created if you ask for it when you install the main program, you might need to use your 3dsmax DVDs to install it.

I've been looking at the source package and all you have to to is to define an environment variable in windows called "3DSMAX_DIR", that points to your max folder (not the maxsdk one).

To do this right click in "My Computer">Properties>Advanced>Environment variables, in my computer 3DSMAX_DIR points to p:\3dsmax7, you have to create one that points to your max folder, then visual studio should recognize it and everything should compile.

Come to the IRC channel if you need and we can talk.
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by martiño »

erandur

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: 24 February 2008, 16:53:55 »
Meh, I'll have to find those DVD's then...  That might be hardest part, lol.
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by erandur »

erandur

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: 24 February 2008, 21:05:01 »
Looks like something/something scratched the dvd... But I assume downloading the illegal version, while you paid for it, isn't that illegal, is it? *thinking of the roms system*.
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by erandur »

martiño

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,095
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #14 on: 3 March 2008, 21:37:59 »
I've uploaded a working glexemel version form windows:

http://www.glest.org/files/contrib/tool ... 2_0.1a.zip
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by martiño »