Author Topic: Code organization and standards  (Read 3443 times)

Orcules

Code organization and standards
« on: 26 April 2008, 16:44:59 »
Hello all.  I have recently discovered the Glest project and think it has wonderful potential.  I downloaded the source, compiled it, and ran the game.  So far so good.  THEN I actually looked at the source code...

The code structure is a nightmare.  Many header files declare a dozen different classes, code is littered throughout the header files, and worst of all is the coupling.  An Ai has an AiInterface which in turn has a pointer to an Ai...  And the same spaghetti coupling exists for AiRule.  I haven't made it past the A's yet :O

Are there any attempts to enforce good coding practices in this project?  I am a professional programmer and this code makes my head spin.  Heaven help the newbies who are trying to learn C++ and want to contribute to this project as well.   Even a small thing such as running AStyle against all the code would be a good starting place.   And then for the sake of readability and navigation, enforce a rule that one header file may only contain one class declaration (excluding subclasses) , you may never define a method in the header file, and then refactor the old code to meet the new standards.

I have already started making these changes in my code set, but the coupling is a huge obstacle.  Are any of the main devs interested in the ideas I have mentioned or am I alone in my quest for readability and maintainability?
« Last Edit: 1 January 1970, 00:00:00 by Orcules »

Duke

(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: 26 April 2008, 21:26:24 »
Well the original main devs seem to be rather busy lately.

But you might want to contact daniel.santos.
He is currently overworking the code to add quite a list of new features.

I don't realy now if his stile is better, but it at least has more comments and docs. You might want to take a look at it.

The Project is called Glest Advanced and is stickied in the mods section.