Author Topic: To Do List & Bugs  (Read 40543 times)

assassin

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #75 on: 6 June 2009, 08:57:24 »
I have a bug :
In GAE, when it is loading all the units for the game, if there is an xml "segmentation fault", then it shows the error, and comes up with an exit button. However the exit button doesn't work, and the only way to stop glest is to restart X.
My computer is ubuntu 9.04

hailstone

  • Local Moderator
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #76 on: 6 June 2009, 09:09:15 »
Can you submit a bug on https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/ and upload an example xml so I can test?
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

assassin

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #77 on: 6 June 2009, 10:21:20 »
Ok, I've added the bug to sourceforge, it is no specific xml file, just one which glest does not understand.(e.g. one with a random word in the middle or something).

hailstone

  • Local Moderator
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #78 on: 6 June 2009, 14:03:46 »
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

gruese

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #79 on: 19 June 2009, 16:44:57 »
Hey, I was just checking out the sourceforge page and saw this bug:

Quote from: sourceforge
2800807   Sounds stop playing after an amount of time

Details:

I'm playing Glest 3.2.2 with the GAE 0.2.11 engine and am experiencing a
bug: After I've been in a game for around 10 minutes, all sounds suddenly
stop playing except ambiental sounds (birds, wind) and music. This includes
battle sounds, building sounds, unit voices and everything but music and
ambiance.

The problem can be fixed by leaving and staring a new match, no need to
restart the game. My audio board is a Realtek HD integrated in the
motherboard, using Windows XP.

I have the same problem. Windows XP, on board sound. My engine is older, but it seems this hasn't been fixed.
There's a thread for the bug here
https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=4377.0
but I thought I'd post it in the sticky thread anyway.

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #80 on: 19 June 2009, 23:47:11 »
That hasn't been there long, but then nothing has :)
I'll admit I have known about it since virtually 'day one', as is we handle audio platform dependently... OpenAL on linux, and DirectSound on windoze... I think we should abandon DirectSound and get OpenAL working on windoze... or abandon both and just use SDL.

It's not a priority though... wont happen any time soon.
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

wciow

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 968
    • View Profile
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #81 on: 18 August 2009, 11:21:13 »
I found a bug!

I was testing with Daniel's old <attack-notice> tag in the faction.xml.

Despite double and triple checking that the syntax was correct it causes a nasty crash with an error about the 'file missing or incorrect'.

According to the Wiki this was working in previous versions of GAE but was never fully tested.
So far my tests have not managed to get it working and I noticed it was turned off in the old FPM xml I checked.

Anyone wanna delve into the code to take a look...
Check out my new Goblin faction - https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9658.0

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #82 on: 21 August 2009, 01:57:40 »
I think I can lump that in with a few other things to look at, and put it all under the heading,

Check which new stuff from FPM you broke, and unbreak it.

I didn't actually test FPM as I was hacking away... shame on me.  There are likely are few things that were working that are now broken...

Time for a stock take :)
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #83 on: 26 August 2009, 05:20:54 »
Save Game is broken. Well, I think it's actually just the load game part. The game seems to save perfectly, but loads like h***.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

modman

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #84 on: 31 August 2009, 18:30:59 »
I'm not sure if this has been mentioned/fixed yet, but on vanilla 3.2.2 morphing from land to air or air to land does not work.  The new unit will be in the same field as the unit it morphed from.

Example:

You have unit A, which is in field a.  You want to morph to unit B which is in field b.  So you press morph, and unfortunately Unit B is in field a.

gameboy

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #85 on: 1 September 2009, 13:24:38 »
I think its fixed, right silnarm?

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #86 on: 1 September 2009, 22:03:45 »
I think its fixed, right silnarm?

Correct.  It may be a bit 'iffy' if the morphed to unit has multiple fields in its XML, I've 'fixed' that now, but I'm still not sure allowing multiple fields is wise, as far as I know this never actually did anything anyway...
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

Zoythrus

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #87 on: 30 September 2009, 22:46:05 »
GAE needs to improve on unit targeting!!!!!

i hate it when my archers cant hit anything because they only fire where the unit WAS!
all projectile units need better AI, so that they can hit moving units w/o an attack with a splash damage of 5

can this be done?

jda

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs - BUG loading saved game
« Reply #88 on: 5 October 2009, 16:33:43 »
Got an error everytime I try to load a game I'd previously saved:
Code: [Select]
Bad game file.
Error loading map file: four_rivers
std::exception

Thought I'd test against underscore characters and used map "conflict" (from titi's megapack v4) instead. Same error, only regarding the different map file.

hailstone

  • Local Moderator
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #89 on: 6 October 2009, 07:22:08 »
In the latest version of GAE trunk [rev 284] the error map is a relative path to the map file. ie maps/four_rivers.gbm

I'm guessing in your save file you have something like <mapPath value="four_rivers" /> where it should be <mapPath value="maps/four_rivers.gbm" /> . Although I think it would be better to go off names in case paths change.
« Last Edit: 6 October 2009, 07:25:07 by hailstone »
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

daniel.santos

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #90 on: 6 October 2009, 22:17:41 »
GAE needs to improve on unit targeting!!!!!
Yes, I agree with you Zoythrus.  Do me a favor and create a bug for this at bugs.codemonger.org.  I will say that I believe that the issue isn't absolute.  This behavior is intended for Magitech.  Some version of Age of Empires has this behavior at first, and then once you get an upgrade, your ranged units will lead their shots, aiming at the location that the target will be at the current heading and movement speed.  So it's not so black and white.  Finally, as of 0.2.8 or some such, I added the ability for a projectile particle system to track targets (i.e., never miss).  I added this for the FPM Priestess' lightning attack (search for the word "tracking" in https://docs.megaglest.org/GAE/Projectile_Particle_XML).  What is lacking yet is a mechanism to lead shots (i.e., aim at the place they will be when your missile arrives, based upon their current trajectory), and that is what needs a bug to track it (if you would please).

jda: please remember to always post the version of GAE you're using.
« Last Edit: 18 June 2016, 17:52:59 by filux »

jda

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #91 on: 7 October 2009, 22:07:46 »
In the latest version of GAE trunk [rev 284] the error map is a relative path to the map file. ie maps/four_rivers.gbm

I'm guessing in your save file you have something like <mapPath value="four_rivers" /> where it should be <mapPath value="maps/four_rivers.gbm" /> . Although I think it would be better to go off names in case paths change.
You got that perfectly right and after making the apropriate change in the savegame file, that error disappeared. However, after I click on "Load", now a new error appears:
Code: [Select]
Exception: shared_lib/sources/util/util.cpp lastDir - i==string::npos
I'm using gae 0.2.12 with glest 3.2.2 on Ubuntu Linux 9.04

hailstone

  • Local Moderator
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #92 on: 8 October 2009, 07:20:33 »
I think this means that one of the paths doesn't have a slash when it is expected. Try 0.2.12a since it uses different functions for determining the base name.
« Last Edit: 8 October 2009, 07:29:46 by hailstone »
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #93 on: 9 October 2009, 03:50:52 »
GAE needs to improve on unit targeting!!!!!

i hate it when my archers cant hit anything because they only fire where the unit WAS!
all projectile units need better AI, so that they can hit moving units w/o an attack with a splash damage of 5

can this be done?
How is this a bug? A 'tracking' XML tag exists if the projectile should track (and through this, never miss). It really all depends on the speed of the unit's attack. The archer isn't SUPPOSED to hit a fast moving unit, nor should their attacks be faster, nor should they track. Sure, it may downscale them, but that's the way it is. Brave the storm, the archer is strong enough as it is...
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Zoythrus

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #94 on: 10 October 2009, 22:50:33 »
not just the archer, there are some mods that have units with guns for example, so it would be nice if they could "lead" (even if through an upgrade)

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #95 on: 19 October 2009, 23:40:03 »
They can. The mod just needs to be GAEized with the particle proj XML having the <tracking value="true" /> tag in the trajectory (at least I think that's where. Going by memory here). Military utilizes this for SOME proj's (missles, etc;) that make SENSE. Bullets move faster than arrows, so are more likely to hit, but SHOULDN'T move in the air. The extra speed means they hit all but the fastest targets anyway, something realistic.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Ligerteeth

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #96 on: 21 October 2009, 01:12:08 »
you guys should make it possible to get resources from kills

hailstone

  • Local Moderator
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #97 on: 21 October 2009, 04:54:23 »
Thanks Ligerteeth. When codemonger.org becomes live again I'll add it to the bugtracker.
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

jda

  • Guest
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #98 on: 21 October 2009, 18:47:21 »
you guys should make it possible to get resources from kills
Oooh... plunder! I like that! ;D

-Archmage-

  • Moderator
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,887
  • Make it so.
    • View Profile
    • My Website
Re: To Do List & Bugs
« Reply #99 on: 21 October 2009, 18:51:04 »
And also you could make it so you win and lose resources as your units win and die.
Egypt Remastered!

Proof: Owner of glest@mail.com