Author Topic: Dinosaurs Project  (Read 2341 times)

ebola

Dinosaurs Project
« on: 9 April 2009, 20:56:28 »
Hello, this is one of my first real posts, but here goes.

I'm a just a CS student with a little free time, and a good idea for a game. I'm making a dinosaurs game off the Glest engine. This won't really be a mod in the traditional sense. I will be using the Glest engine to make a new game while still borrowing chunks of in-place RTS elements. I won't be announcing designs until I get more done and make sure they are implementable.

On the subject of GAE, I took a look at it, but I did not use it for a couple of reasons. 1, I don't really know what advantages there are to using GAE, at least in terms of what I want to accomplish. 2, GAE is still currently on 3.1.2 and I'm working with 3.2.2. However, if someone knows enough about GAE and know why I should use that instead, please inform me.

I thought it would be good to show some work before actually posting a new mod announcement, so I made some changes to the Glest engine to my personal taste and recorded them.

So far, I've added:
Cursor Loading
Unit Highlighting
Selection Circle (changed the function of the HP circle)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kKl7UgQFxuY

Next functions to add:
Health/Points bars
Command Queuing
GUI Restructuring

Some of these are definitely going to make Glest run slower, but I'm running on a fairly fast computer so it's hard for me to judge if its feasible on slower computers. I don't claim to be a C++ expert and I'm definitely not an OpenGL expert, so there probably are ways to optimize what I am writing. For example, if I could use shaders, I could make a much better unit highlighting effect, but I don't really know much about getting shaders to work w/ HLSL, much less adding in GLSL.