Author Topic: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source  (Read 7528 times)

Evanator

  • Guest
Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« on: 29 July 2009, 12:04:29 »
Can someone tell me how to compile the jumble of Glest 3.2.2 source? I have no idea where to start, nor which files to import to my Visual Studio C++ project  :-\

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #1 on: 29 July 2009, 20:00:59 »
Take a look at this

https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=3271.0

It is for an older version of glest, but the principals are all the same.

If you don't know how to compile using these instructions, I don't think you are quite experienced enough to do so. Glest is a fullsized game, and needs a few dependancies to compile as well, so basic know-how on compiling is neccessary. Of course, if you just want to play the game, you should download the installer from glest.org.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

modman

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #2 on: 30 July 2009, 02:48:06 »
Um, I don't see how this belongs in Mods... ::)

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #3 on: 30 July 2009, 10:23:18 »
Thanks. And modman... this belongs in the "mods" section of the forums because it's the first step in actually creating a mod for Glest... You look like an admin anyway so why not just move it if you want to be that picky? ::)

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #4 on: 30 July 2009, 11:15:08 »
This tut is great, but i get confuzzled at this line:
Set C/C++ -> General -> Additional Include Directories using the below values.  If you don't want to screw with their user interface, just delimit them    with a semi-colen and copy and paste.
Code:

..\..\..\deps\include
..\shared_lib\include\sound\ds8
..\shared_lib\include\graphics
..\shared_lib\include\graphics\gl
..\shared_lib\include\platform\win32
..\shared_lib\include\sound
..\shared_lib\include\util
..\shared_lib\include\xml

I DO use C++ and I consider myself in the intermediary level, however this step isn't worded very well. What does it mean by "C/C++..."? Are they drop down boxes I need to tick or text fields or what? Any help would be appreciated! ;D

hailstone

  • GAE Team
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #5 on: 30 July 2009, 13:44:59 »
When you get to the project properties dialog, in Configuration Properties tree item there is C/C++ (a tree item, expand the others if it's not visible). General is another tree item and Additional Include Directories is the property on the right.

When you click in this property a button on the right appears. You can click this and enter each directory OR use a semi-colon to separate each item.
(ie ..\..\..\deps\include;..\shared_lib\include\sound\ds8;..\shared_lib\include\graphics;..\shared_lib\include\graphics\gl;..\shared_lib\include\platform\win32;..\shared_lib\include\sound;..\shared_lib\include\util;..\shared_lib\include\xml )

Depending on the Glest version you will need ..\shared_lib\include\lua too.
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #6 on: 31 July 2009, 09:41:12 »
Thanks, I initially thought that "C/C++" was a tree in that dialog, however it doesn't appear to be in any of the tabs or trees under "Configuration Properties". This may be Because I'm running Visual C++ 2008 and the tutorial was written in another version or some other error. Can this step be avoided and can the headers listed be added any other way?

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #7 on: 31 July 2009, 10:00:22 »
Oh, I also meant to ask how the heck to convert my 3d models from .3ds or .obj to G3D. I keep searching the forums for an answer but all i get is 32% relevance jargon that I sift through without prevail. And please don't post anymore source, this compiling BS is giving me a real headache, I use google sketchup and Anim8or if it helps...

wciow

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 968
    • View Profile
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #8 on: 31 July 2009, 10:26:58 »
I know nothing about the compiling issue but for the models you need Blender. There is no direct .3ds or .obj converter. The good news is that Blender can import both of these file types without any problems.

Blender is really the only supported modeller around here. There is an old and outdated Max export script but Blender is the preferred and maintained option  ;)
Check out my new Goblin faction - https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9658.0

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #9 on: 31 July 2009, 11:44:49 »
Awesome, i already have Blender but i thought it was for making games not 3D animations. Regardless I'd love a link to the G3D converter plug-in!!! (any info on how to simply create a model and not an entire game in blender would be appreciated!)

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #10 on: 31 July 2009, 12:00:25 »
I'd also love to know why in Blender the Torque and Force fields don't appear in any motion actuator i create, the tutorial shows in the actuator box there should be 5 or six fields to edit (torque, force, loc, rot,...) but i only have loc and rot. HELP WOULD BE GREAT.

ElimiNator

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,391
  • The MegaGlest Moder.
    • View Profile
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #11 on: 31 July 2009, 15:35:02 »
The tortila was probably referring to an old version of blender I just use locrotscale.
Get the Vbros': Packs 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5!

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #12 on: 31 July 2009, 15:53:39 »
Thanks for clearing that up Elim. ;)

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #13 on: 31 July 2009, 16:12:35 »
LOL, i has another problem xD!!!! YAY. This time, i followed the blender .g3d script instructions to the letter and the scripts from the bin folder of that zip file are in the "../.blender/scripts" directory as plannified. Should work right? Well it don't come up in the blender File -> Export tree in the program, WUT'Z GOIN ON?!?!?! Do i need to use the exporters in a wierd way or something? ???

hailstone

  • GAE Team
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #14 on: 1 August 2009, 02:10:48 »
Thanks, I initially thought that "C/C++" was a tree in that dialog, however it doesn't appear to be in any of the tabs or trees under "Configuration Properties". This may be Because I'm running Visual C++ 2008 and the tutorial was written in another version or some other error.
I'm using Visual C++ 2008 Express but it should be the same. I think there is a step missing where you import the source files to the project. Without a cpp (or h?) file it doesn't show the C/C++ tree item.
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #15 on: 1 August 2009, 09:09:05 »
Thanks. And modman... this belongs in the "mods" section of the forums because it's the first step in actually creating a mod for Glest... You look like an admin anyway so why not just move it if you want to be that picky? ::)
Heh, modman is no admin, I'm afraid.

If this is a mod, it is fine here. Do you think you could divulge a tiny hint of what you have in mind?
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #16 on: 8 August 2009, 14:23:53 »
Well, it's supposed to be some sort of futuristic mod, but for some reason whenever I try to run glest it stops loading and freezes at one of my upgrades. I've made many upgrades for the existing tech tree before but this one upgrade is a real pain in the neck, i can't seem to get it to work. The code is as follows:
<?xml version="1.0" standalone="no"?>

<upgrade>
   <image path="images/energised_armour.bmp"/>
   <image-cancel path="../../units/engineer/images/yttirion_cancel.bmp"/>
   <time value="100"/>
   <unit-requirements/>
   <upgrade-requirements/>
   <resource-requirements>
                <resource name="power" amount="200"/>
   </resource-requirements>
   <effects>
      <unit name="engineer"/>
   </effects>
   <max-hp value="50"/>
   <max-ep value="0"/>
   <sight value="5"/>
   <attack-strenght value="0"/>
   <attack-range value="0"/>
   <armor value="0"/>
   <move-speed value="50"/>
   <production-speed value="0"/>
</upgrade>

The "engineer" character is fully operational, as is the "power" resource, the paths are all in order and it's still chucking a fail. The worst part is that the faction won't load without at least 1 upgrade so the whole cycle of fail i'm experiencing as unavoidable! HEEEEEEEEEEEELP!!!
« Last Edit: 8 August 2009, 14:26:15 by Evanator »

John.d.h

  • Moderator
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,757
  • I have to go now. My planet needs me.
    • View Profile
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #17 on: 8 August 2009, 19:10:58 »
Maybe there's a problem with affecting a unit's movement speed.  I don't see why it shouldn't work, but I don't think I've seen it done before.  You could try getting rid of that and seeing if it works.

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #18 on: 9 August 2009, 08:09:29 »
I don't think that's it, all my other upgrades that have worked have had the move-speed value. Could it be because Glest upgrades can't handle the different resources? I can modify the race xml's code slightly so it fits in with the magitech resources and the game will run, I've done that before, but i want my own tech tree with its' own resources. I think this is a problem to do with Glest, unless the upgrade needs some sort of declaration in it's xml to define to the engine that it's running under a different tech tree. I really can't think of anything else, it'd be good if someone with tech-tree creating experience or just general mod-making experience could help me :):(:):(:):(:):(:):(:):(:):(
P.S.(I know this has something to do with the resources or the tech tree because when i run the same tech tree with the magitech resources the game works flawlessly)
« Last Edit: 9 August 2009, 08:15:13 by Evanator »

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #19 on: 10 August 2009, 05:33:36 »
I need the EXACT error message please!
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #20 on: 10 August 2009, 11:13:41 »
There isn't actually an error message, it just stops loading and the game ends when it loads the upgrade, like it does if an XML isn't coded or linked properly.

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #21 on: 10 August 2009, 12:14:23 »
But if a link is improper, there will be a popup alert, ditto for most XML errors. Try running via command line to see if it can print an error there. Possibly something wrong with the unit you are upgrading... For a test, see if you can get it to work when you remove the effects tag (<effects/>)
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Evanator

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #22 on: 10 August 2009, 12:46:32 »
Firstly; it would be good to know how to run it with command line, and second; when I look through the glest load log the units I want to upgrade are already loaded and hence there muct not be anything wrong with them. As I said before I think it has something to do with the different tech tree (non-magitech folder) and resources I want to use because the upgrade (unaltered except for the resources) works perfectly when used inside the magitech folder and with the default resources...

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #23 on: 11 August 2009, 08:11:47 »
How DO you use the command line on windows vista?!?!? I never realized it before. I forgot that the idiots (oh, sorry, I meant geniuses) at Microsoft decided to make sure that you start with %systemRoot%\Users\%userAccount%, or at least %systemRoot%\Windows\System32, which means I cannot figure out how to access program files. I take it there is no way to start a blank command line, is there?
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

modman

  • Guest
Re: Compiling Glest 3.2.2 Source
« Reply #24 on: 11 August 2009, 22:56:21 »
My best guess would be to look for help:

http://commandwindows.com/vista-commands.htm