Author Topic: Error creating 3d textures  (Read 3549 times)

Zero

  • Guest
Error creating 3d textures
« on: 21 December 2009, 09:35:21 »
well i played this game many times by now but lately it created an error report that said
''Error creating texture 3d'' can someone help me to fix this?

-Archmage-

  • Moderator
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,886
  • Make it so.
    • View Profile
    • My Website
Re: Error creating 3d textures
« Reply #1 on: 21 December 2009, 14:07:28 »
Problem: Your computer's graphics can't render "3D Textures".

Solutions:

1- Update all drivers, and anything related to graphics, if you don't have a good driver then get one.

2- Turn off 3D textures in the glest.ini.

Info that would help:(answer all of these and I will better be able to help you)

What OS? 32-64 bit?
Glest version?
What graphics card?
Egypt Remastered!

Proof: Owner of glest@mail.com

Zero

  • Guest
Re: Error creating 3d textures
« Reply #2 on: 21 December 2009, 23:30:08 »
What OS? microsoft windows Xp Professional
Glest version?3.2.2
What graphics card?model intel(R) 945GM Express Chipseet family

and strange thing is that i was playing this before i had the problem the game was still working

-Archmage-

  • Moderator
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,886
  • Make it so.
    • View Profile
    • My Website
Re: Error creating 3d textures
« Reply #3 on: 21 December 2009, 23:40:12 »
I believe you should turn off "3D Textures" in your glest.ini, located in: "C:\Program Files\Glest_3.2.2".
Egypt Remastered!

Proof: Owner of glest@mail.com

Zero

  • Guest
Re: Error creating 3d textures
« Reply #4 on: 22 December 2009, 02:24:57 »
well ive done that and i still get  the same results

anyways can someone help me find an upgrade for this ? mobile intel (r) 945gm express chipset family
« Last Edit: 22 December 2009, 05:41:16 by Zero »

-Archmage-

  • Moderator
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,886
  • Make it so.
    • View Profile
    • My Website
Re: Error creating 3d textures
« Reply #5 on: 22 December 2009, 12:39:31 »
Option-1:
You can always upgrade your hardware.
My main computer just went through a major graphics upgrade.
Integrated graphics(awful, lagged tons on lowest settings), to HIS AMD Radeon HD 4670, and graphics are AWESOME!
Those cards aren't that expensive, so that would probably be a good option for you.

Option-2:
But if you don't do some hardware upgrade.......then were going to have to try a driver update, and maybe find a new driver.

Open your start menu, type in the search bar: "msconfig"...
It should open a "System Configuration" window, switch to the "Tools" tab.
Out of the list of tools, select system information. Click: "Launch", and wait...
Egypt Remastered!

Proof: Owner of glest@mail.com

Zero

  • Guest
Re: Error creating 3d textures
« Reply #6 on: 23 December 2009, 01:23:00 »
Thanks that helped a lot :D

-Archmage-

  • Moderator
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,886
  • Make it so.
    • View Profile
    • My Website
Re: Error creating 3d textures
« Reply #7 on: 23 December 2009, 03:43:58 »
Pick and option, and I'll try to help you further with the option you pick.
Egypt Remastered!

Proof: Owner of glest@mail.com

-Archmage-

  • Moderator
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,886
  • Make it so.
    • View Profile
    • My Website
Re: Error creating 3d textures
« Reply #8 on: 23 December 2009, 16:37:13 »
Pick an option:

Option-1: Work with drivers and try to update or get a better one.

Option-2: Change the glest.ini settings, and get lowest possible graphics settings.

Option-3: Hardware upgrade.
Egypt Remastered!

Proof: Owner of glest@mail.com

Illurlaccub

  • Guest
Error creating 3d textures
« Reply #9 on: 29 January 2010, 18:03:34 »
When I try to run the program I get a run time error 7 : out of memory message. I was able to run the game before but now this error is in the way.
I have a 2gig computer with 512 of ram so the ram should be enough...
Do you need to install an updated version of visual basic 6 or something?

titi

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,229
    • View Profile
    • http://www.titusgames.de
Re: Error creating 3d textures
« Reply #10 on: 29 January 2010, 22:08:13 »
You maybe installed mods too? Or you are running another Program in the background that eats the memory ( browsers like firefox or IE  for example ) .
But in general its a misconfiguration of your computer. I assume you are using windows:
Usually there is a swapfile configured which is used by the Operating system to expand its memory.
So you either have no such swap file configured or you have one of a dynamical size and your harddisk is nearly full.( especially drice C: . This is the typical place for a swapfile )
« Last Edit: 29 January 2010, 22:11:20 by titi »
Try Megaglest! Improved Engine / New factions / New tilesets / New maps / New scenarios

hailstone

  • GAE Team
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
Re: Error creating 3d textures
« Reply #11 on: 30 January 2010, 00:25:12 »
To be clear, on Windows it is known as a paging file or virtual memory.
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

 

anything