Author Topic: AI work  (Read 5453 times)

discodowney

AI work
« on: 2 September 2010, 16:07:40 »
Hi,

Im doing my thesis on using a type of AI called SVM to control the AI in a RTS. Ive spent the last while trying to get Megaglest to work but i cant for the life of me get it to compile.

So Im just wondering if this is similar to that, in that i can change the AI code? Also what is the difference between GAE and Glest (or MegaGlest).

Cheers

ultifd

• Airship
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: AI work
« Reply #1 on: 3 September 2010, 02:47:57 »
Also what is the difference between GAE and Glest (or MegaGlest).
Well I asked softcoder...so here are some differences.
Code: [Select]
<ultifd> hey softcoder, what is the difference between GAE and MG again? one is that MG uses SDL and GAE uses Directsound right?
<softcoder> yes... but more
<softcoder> MG uses 90-95% same code for both linux and windows
<softcoder> SDL, OpenAL
<softcoder> where GAE uses Windows specific API's for Keyboard / mouse and sound
<softcoder> for windows binaries
<softcoder> also they changed many deps
<softcoder> like I think no more xerces but they use tinyxml
<softcoder> they also support things MG goes not yet like Physfs (virtual file systems... like reading files from ZIP files etc)
Edit: The other general differences is that megaglest greatly improves multiplayer, with some other new features, and that GAE basically has tons of features that are helpful for modding or gameplay, adds to the fun, etc...but the multiplayer is currently as good/bad as vanilla glest.

silnarm

• Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 3 September 2010, 06:21:57 »
Hi,

Im doing my thesis on using a type of AI called SVM to control the AI in a RTS. Ive spent the last while trying to get Megaglest to work but i cant for the life of me get it to compile.