Author Topic: Mechanics: Peace Time  (Read 2498 times)

ChupaReaper

  • Guest
Mechanics: Peace Time
« on: 3 October 2010, 18:26:24 »
This would be set before a match is started in the same place the factions/players, etc are chosen.
It could be set in minutes either from a list (1, 5, 10, 20, 30) or just entered customary.
Peace time starts when the game does and it prevents battle units/buildings from being built or produced.
So that battle units can be differentiated from other units a flag or something would help, this way rather than disabling the units I could set it so peace time prevents buildings that create battle units from being built during peace time.
Idea from Stronghold,  always loved peace time as it allowed for better planning and longer matches.

Gabbe

  • Guest
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #1 on: 3 October 2010, 20:56:54 »
You are reffering t6o a treaty system?

ChupaReaper

  • Guest
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #2 on: 3 October 2010, 21:34:47 »
Sort off, really its just a way to focus a bit more on the economics are first, I don't like having to rush to build everything in order to get things out fast I sometimes prefer to take my time, rotate things build a nice castle with walls, then get the troops on the go and destroy things.

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #3 on: 4 October 2010, 22:06:21 »
Problem: Most units are battle units... In tech, the worker, cow, and pig are the ONLY non-battle units. In short, peace time is simply a bad idea because there wouldn't be anything to do during peace time...
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

ChupaReaper

  • Guest
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #4 on: 4 October 2010, 23:34:02 »
True, I didn't think about MagiTech lol, it's been a while since I've played with them. Perhaps peace time would prevent attacking (then again, can just build an army next to the opponent which would go berserk... Hmm, peace time would work with my factions and maybe others too, perhaps this could be a tech-tree thing so peace time sows up when certain tech-trees that support it are chosen?

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #5 on: 5 October 2010, 13:49:40 »
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

ChupaReaper

  • Guest
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #6 on: 5 October 2010, 19:40:03 »
Awesome!

Mark

  • Guest
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #7 on: 7 October 2010, 02:15:46 »
Problem: Most units are battle units... In tech, the worker, cow, and pig are the ONLY non-battle units. In short, peace time is simply a bad idea because there wouldn't be anything to do during peace time...
It would work perfectly in stronghold-- 70% of the buildings have to do with the compicated economic system that the game incorporates.  Maybe some mods could have some economic factors, but with a capability for only 7-8 resources, forget it.  However, some diplomacy might be cool, though nigh impossible to implement well.  Even Civ doesn't get it perfect, and diplomacy is half that game!  Some features, such as alliances and tribute-demanding are very cool when implemented.

Zoythrus

  • Guest
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #8 on: 7 October 2010, 02:40:49 »
or, we could do what Supreme Commander did. there was a ring placed around your base, and for the length of the timer, your units could not be moved or given commands outside of the ring.

there, problem solved

John.d.h

  • Moderator
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,757
  • I have to go now. My planet needs me.
    • View Profile
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #9 on: 7 October 2010, 03:06:20 »
Would this not be more easily done with Lua in scenarios?  (Unless the plan is to allow Lua triggers in the tech tree itself...)

ChupaReaper

  • Guest
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #10 on: 7 October 2010, 09:10:33 »
or, we could do what Supreme Commander did. there was a ring placed around your base, and for the length of the timer, your units could not be moved or given commands outside of the ring.

there, problem solved

That sounds like a good idea, so long as the size of the ring can be set per faction, it should start from the first unit placed (top of the starting units list). Problem is though, it wouldn't work with maps where say all the resources are a good distance away, unless some 'peace units' can pass through and are only able to build/produce/morph other peace units out side the peace barrier.

Gabbe

  • Guest
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #11 on: 7 October 2010, 15:47:03 »
In AOE III you were able to scout your enemy and build military, but not attack, so you could put lots of soldiers in your enemy base and wait for the timer so SCommander sounds better.

-Archmage-

  • Moderator
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,886
  • Make it so.
    • View Profile
    • My Website
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #12 on: 14 October 2010, 16:52:02 »
Just checking, but this is going to be an option defaulting to 'no', right? Cause for me that kinda ruins the feel of Glest.
Egypt Remastered!

Proof: Owner of glest@mail.com

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #13 on: 14 October 2010, 21:30:55 »
So far there hasn't even been a comment to impliment, and I still don't see the point of it. So, there's no options, and of course, it would default to no if ever implimented.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

ChupaReaper

  • Guest
Re: Mechanics: Peace Time
« Reply #14 on: 15 October 2010, 00:19:43 »
Peace Time:
  • Players can set peace time from off or 0 to whatever time they like in minutes or can select from a list times.
  • Peace time prevents units from leaving a factions peace radius set in the factions xml, if none is set then a default is used say 80 units or something?
  • OR The peace radius can be set during the game startup or per map somehow?