Author Topic: GAE 0.3.1  (Read 12816 times)

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #25 on: 11 October 2010, 21:08:31 »
Aha! It was the config dir! Upon deleting the config dir (in the default location) it successfully worked.

Also, had to copy the DLL's into the bin folder to get the G3D editor, map editor, etc to properly work (though if you choose "Show map" the tileset choices is empty (though stdout has the proper list) and if you hit ok without one selected, the editor crashes).
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Yggdrasil

  • Local Moderator
  • Ornithopter
  • ********
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #26 on: 11 October 2010, 22:15:35 »
Sorry for any inconvenience with the windows installer. We had some problems with the layout which we hopefully now have sorted out. And you are right, the dlls are best placed in bin\.

"Show Map" got fixed recently (not in 0.3.1):
http://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/glestae/ticket/184

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #27 on: 12 October 2010, 17:57:20 »
Ah, excellent Yggrdasil. Good work GAE Team.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

ultifd

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,443
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #28 on: 13 October 2010, 22:18:12 »
Maybe someone should edit the "FAQ". The "latest version" in it should be fixed, at least.

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #29 on: 13 October 2010, 23:56:38 »
Done. I fixed that one question, since not only is the version no longer 0.2.13, but its no longer a side-by-side installation with normal glest. I do think the FAQ needs to be further expanded though, and that's a job best left to... (tra la la!) the GAE Team! :D
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

ultifd

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,443
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #30 on: 15 October 2010, 01:48:08 »
Code: [Select]
1>------ Build started: Project: test_suite, Configuration: Release Win32 ------
1>Compiling...
1>reverse_rect_iter_test.cpp
1>..\..\..\source\test\facilities\reverse_rect_iter_test.cpp(13) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'cppunit/extensions/HelperMacros.h': No such file or directory
1>heap_test.cpp
1>..\..\..\source\test\datastructs\heap_test.cpp(13) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'cppunit/extensions/HelperMacros.h': No such file or directory
1>fixed_point_test.cpp
1>..\..\..\source\test\datastructs\fixed_point_test.cpp(13) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'cppunit/extensions/HelperMacros.h': No such file or directory
1>circular_buffer_test.cpp
1>..\..\..\source\test\datastructs\circular_buffer_test.cpp(13) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'cppunit/extensions/HelperMacros.h': No such file or directory
1>main.cpp
1>..\..\..\source\test\main.cpp(13) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'cppunit/ui/text/TestRunner.h': No such file or directory
1>line_test.cpp
1>..\..\..\source\test\search\line_test.cpp(13) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'cppunit/extensions/HelperMacros.h': No such file or directory
1>influence_map_test.cpp
1>..\..\..\source\test\search\influence_map_test.cpp(13) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'cppunit/extensions/HelperMacros.h': No such file or directory
1>Build log was saved at "file://c:\SVN\glestadv\branches\0.3.x\build\source\test\test_suite.dir\Release\BuildLog.htm"
1>test_suite - 7 error(s), 0 warning(s)
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 4 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
This happened when I tried to compile, SVN head.
So where can I get this HelperMacros and TestRunner?

Psychedelic_hands

  • Guest
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #31 on: 15 October 2010, 15:02:14 »
My GAE crashed  :(

Quote
Crash
Version: Advanced Engine 0.3.1
Time: Wed Oct 06 11:35:57 2010
Description: Access violation (Reading address: 0x00000044)

Call Stack:
  Frame       Code address
  0x017CF43C  0x00B41BAB
  0x017CF444  0x00B3EFCE
  0x017CF480  0x00A55B19
  0x017CF494  0x00B43CE8
  0x00000000  0x00B5D788

=======================

And it was a pretty sweet match as well  :'(

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #32 on: 16 October 2010, 00:54:40 »
This happened when I tried to compile, SVN head.
So where can I get this HelperMacros and TestRunner?

If you want to build and run the test suite, you need these additional deps,
http://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/files/win_dev_deps/windeps_tests.zip/download

If you only want to build the game, you can delete the test project. Or better still, rerun cmake (with a 'delete cache' first) and generate new project files, if it can't find cppunit it will disable the test suite.

My GAE crashed  :(
...
And it was a pretty sweet match as well  :'(

Tech-tree? factions? map? is there a 'glestadv-crash.tga' in your config dir?
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

ultifd

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,443
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #33 on: 16 October 2010, 01:56:27 »
OK, thanks. But now
Code: [Select]
CMake Error at C:/Program Files/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:70 (MESSAGE):
  Could NOT find Lua51 (missing: LUA_LIBRARIES LUA_INCLUDE_DIR)
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  C:/Program Files/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindLua51.cmake:72 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
  CMakeLists.txt:60 (find_package)

Yggdrasil

  • Local Moderator
  • Ornithopter
  • ********
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #34 on: 16 October 2010, 09:28:06 »
We are getting slightly offtopic here...

Did you throw all the contents of the different windeps zips into one folder?

Btw, you don't need the testsuite.

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #35 on: 16 October 2010, 22:07:24 »
Well, finally got around to converting military to 0.3.1, and it works like a charm. No encountered bugs or errors yet, save game works well, tried that total conversion for the menus, checked the megaglest particles, and got owned in a 2v2v2v2 game. Very impressive.

A quick question, the Shuffle tag for faction music, what is its syntax?

EDIT// A possible bug? If you select multiple units (that are not all the same kind) and hover over the common command attack, it displays the ???'s around the word. For example, in military, selecting a large variety of units that all had the ability to attack, but the command "attack" doesn't have the same name per unit (ie: the RPG trooper's attack is called "RPG", whereas the Marine's is called "MP40", etc). So if you select those all, you might end up with the common command being called "???MP40???" or "???RPG???". Seems to be looking them up in the language file when it shouldn't be.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

ultifd

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,443
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #36 on: 16 October 2010, 23:00:23 »
We are getting slightly offtopic here...
Did you throw all the contents of the different windeps zips into one folder?
Sorry?
No, I did not.

Quote
Btw, you don't need the testsuite.
I know.
Anyways, I still got the same thing...

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #37 on: 17 October 2010, 03:10:31 »
OK, thanks. But now

After you deleted the cmake cache, did you reset GAE_WINDEPS ?

A quick question, the Shuffle tag for faction music, what is its syntax?

Code: [Select]
<music play-list="true" shuffle="true">
   <!-- ... -->
</music>

Quote
EDIT// A possible bug? If you select multiple units (that are not all the same kind) and hover over the common command attack, it displays the ???'s around the word. For example, in military, selecting a large variety of units that all had the ability to attack, but the command "attack" doesn't have the same name per unit (ie: the RPG trooper's attack is called "RPG", whereas the Marine's is called "MP40", etc). So if you select those all, you might end up with the common command being called "???MP40???" or "???RPG???". Seems to be looking them up in the language file when it shouldn't be.

Yeah, it should just be using the generic command class name ('attack') and looking that up in the lang, but it its using the first actual command found (presumably of the 'front' unit in the selection)... will fix.
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

ultifd

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,443
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #38 on: 17 October 2010, 04:45:57 »
I did.
Anyways now I get
Code: [Select]
CMake Error at C:/Program Files/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:70 (MESSAGE):
  Could NOT find Freetype (missing: FREETYPE_LIBRARY FREETYPE_INCLUDE_DIRS)
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  C:/Program Files/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindFreetype.cmake:92 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
  CMakeLists.txt:67 (find_package)
I'm thinking maybe the deps are missing some stuff...I should have just tried not to reset cmake...

-Archmage-

  • Moderator
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,887
  • Make it so.
    • View Profile
    • My Website
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #39 on: 20 October 2010, 02:46:27 »
Is there any way I can make the GUI bigger, the tiny little buttons are driving me nuts. :look:



I just recently upgraded from 0.2.12b to 0.3.1, and all of a sudden my particle effects are going probably twice as fast as normal. Also, the particle effects seem to be originating 2 or 3 tiles ahead of a unit. Anyone else having these problems? :look:
Egypt Remastered!

Proof: Owner of glest@mail.com

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #40 on: 20 October 2010, 04:12:28 »
I'm thinking maybe the deps are missing some stuff...I should have just tried not to reset cmake...

PNG has been added to the deps, but even with the old ones, it should find Freetype...

delete your old deps folder, use this one (~4.2 MiB).

Delete cache, set GAE_WINDEPS, configure, configure, generate.

Is there any way I can make the GUI bigger, the tiny little buttons are driving me nuts. :look:

Not yet, but coming soon.

Quote
I just recently upgraded from 0.2.12b to 0.3.1, and all of a sudden my particle effects are going probably twice as fast as normal. Also, the particle effects seem to be originating 2 or 3 tiles ahead of a unit. Anyone else having these problems? :look:

Do you mean projectiles, or actual individual particles ?? I haven't noticed anything like this myself ...

Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

-Archmage-

  • Moderator
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,887
  • Make it so.
    • View Profile
    • My Website
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #41 on: 20 October 2010, 04:34:50 »
All particles I've seen seem to be outta whack for me, though I haven't tried unit particles, just the projectiles and splashes...
Egypt Remastered!

Proof: Owner of glest@mail.com

ultifd

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,443
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #42 on: 20 October 2010, 05:31:01 »
use this one (~4.2 MiB).
Oh, that one... I accidentally used the win_deps_test instead of that the whole time... So that was the problem.  :-[
Sorry for the trouble...
Anyways, everything worked. Thanks.

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #43 on: 20 October 2010, 23:44:44 »
All particles I've seen seem to be outta whack for me, though I haven't tried unit particles, just the projectiles and splashes...
Nothing here. Still a few unit effect bugs that have been outlaid in separate topics, but the particle effects seem fine to me... Of course, not 100% sure what you mean. Could you post a picture?

@GUI sizes
I wouldn't mind a more customizable GUI, most specifically, the ability to set the widths of the selection boxes... The scenario categories and map selection boxes are still too thin, and when the content overlaps, it looks quite bad... Besides, we can assume that the minimum resolution will be 1024x768 (face it, if you can't use at LEAST that resolution, it's time to chuck the computer. I've seen computers 10 years old that can support it...) which leaves plenty of room for GUI elements.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

hailstone

  • Local Moderator
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #44 on: 22 October 2010, 16:05:50 »
Quote
Besides, we can assume that the minimum resolution will be 1024x768
I don't think it would be good to assume that, especially since I've used 800x600 when debugging multiple instances in windowed mode. Another reason might be if you get lag when recording a video.
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #45 on: 22 October 2010, 18:50:01 »
Hmm, that's a good point... Still, even at 800x600 (which I will consider the bare minimum) there's some space. Even more if you move around the controls into more rows. Overlapping and cut off text looks bad and limits modders...

Bearing in mind that most people won't run multiple instances (hmm... wonder if you can play a game with yourself using 127.0.0.1?). Videos may have a point... Not sure what most people use here... I was able to take a (slightly choppy) video at 1024x768.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

ElimiNator

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,391
  • The MegaGlest Moder.
    • View Profile
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #46 on: 3 November 2010, 21:35:39 »
Is this the newest version?
Get the Vbros': Packs 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5!

ultifd

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,443
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #47 on: 3 November 2010, 21:46:08 »
Is this the newest version?
Yes, although SVN HEAD has a lot of improvements...

ChupaReaper

  • Guest
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #48 on: 20 November 2010, 20:01:11 »
Is 0.3.2 not ready now, I noticed on Source forge that everything's closed, are those memory leaks sorted now?

ultifd

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,443
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: GAE 0.3.1
« Reply #49 on: 20 November 2010, 22:06:30 »
Yes, I heard Silnarm is preparing for a release...

 

anything