Author Topic: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.  (Read 2788 times)

Psychedelic_hands

  • Guest
Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« on: 8 October 2010, 04:26:57 »
I think this would be cool for screenshots, plus I've heard many people say they like uncluttered screens. :D

Zoythrus

  • Guest
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #1 on: 8 October 2010, 05:56:07 »
you can do that!

find the glest.ini file in the main directory. go to Photomode=yes (or whatever is closest to that) and turn it to no.

problem solved!

-Zoy

John.d.h

  • Moderator
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,757
  • I have to go now. My planet needs me.
    • View Profile
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #2 on: 8 October 2010, 16:47:27 »
Other way around, actually.  Change UIPhotoMode to equal true. ;)

It would be nice to be able to change it in-game, so if something cool happens you can pause, clear the GUI, and snap a screenshot.

Psychedelic_hands

  • Guest
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #3 on: 9 October 2010, 09:54:08 »
Yes I know about photomode. But what if you're having an epic battle and forgot to turn it on?.... You're left wanting a screenshot :(
Also I have a few other ideas:

1. Re-sizable GUI boxes- This would go well with being able to minimize them, pretty much make them into windows.

2. GUI team colour- This would be cool, another possibility would be to have different colours faction specific.
« Last Edit: 9 October 2010, 15:28:39 by Psychedelic_hands »

Zoythrus

  • Guest
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #4 on: 9 October 2010, 15:17:31 »

1. Re-sizable GUI boxes- This would go well with being able to minimize them, pretty much make them into windows.

2. GUI team colour- This would be cool, another possibility would be to have different factions have different colours.

Spring does this!

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #5 on: 9 October 2010, 18:29:31 »
Hmm, this reminds me of something I heard a LONG time back... Some guy modified his version of Glest so you could switch between Photomode and fullscreen-windowed in game... Unfortunately, I'm not sure if he uploaded anything...
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Psychedelic_hands

  • Guest
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #6 on: 11 October 2010, 11:52:49 »

1. Re-sizable GUI boxes- This would go well with being able to minimize them, pretty much make them into windows.

2. GUI team colour- This would be cool, another possibility would be to have different factions have different colours.

Spring does this!

Does it? I wouldn't know, never played it. but it would be cool.
Hmm, this reminds me of something I heard a LONG time back... Some guy modified his version of Glest so you could switch between Photomode and fullscreen-windowed in game... Unfortunately, I'm not sure if he uploaded anything...
It would be cool yes?

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #7 on: 14 October 2010, 01:58:48 »
Removing the widgets while rendering a screenshot would be trivial.

As to the in-game widgets, I do wish/plan to make them more window like, they can be moved already, the minimap supports scaling already, but there is no way to trigger it.

So if any pixel-pushers out there can come up some decent looking buttons I'd be delighted to incorporate them. Different versions for 'small' and 'big' would be good, but small will need to be small, probably 16 * 16 pixels ...

For the buttons we would need: a minimise/roll-up, restore/unroll, zoom-in, zoom-out, & close.

Something to put on the 'title-bar' area would also be nice, to make it more obvious its draggable, a series of lines or dots is popular for this purpose nowadays.

In the future the regular console and dialog console may get put in widgets, and the debug info definately will, so some widget resizing indicators might be nice too.
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

John.d.h

  • Moderator
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,757
  • I have to go now. My planet needs me.
    • View Profile
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #8 on: 14 October 2010, 03:31:44 »
Removing the widgets while rendering a screenshot would be trivial.
Might be nice to keep them sometimes, though.  'E' for a regular screenshot, 'shift E' for a clean one?
Quote
For the buttons we would need: a minimise/roll-up, restore/unroll, zoom-in, zoom-out, & close.
In progress... will post results in a few.
Quote
In the future the regular console and dialog console may get put in widgets, and the debug info definately will, so some widget resizing indicators might be nice too.
You mean like handles in the corners?

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #9 on: 14 October 2010, 03:53:40 »
Might be nice to keep them sometimes, though.  'E' for a regular screenshot, 'shift E' for a clean one?

Good idea.

Quote
Quote
For the buttons we would need: a minimise/roll-up, restore/unroll, zoom-in, zoom-out, & close.
In progress... will post results in a few.

Sweet, thanks :)

Quote
You mean like handles in the corners?

Yeah, some diagonal lines or something, again just to 'convey the idea' of resize-ability.
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

John.d.h

  • Moderator
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,757
  • I have to go now. My planet needs me.
    • View Profile
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #10 on: 14 October 2010, 03:55:25 »
Code: [Select]
[URL=http://img100.imageshack.us/i/windowbuttons.png/][IMG]http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/2126/windowbuttons.png[/img][/URL]
How do these suit you?  I'm thinking these are minimize, zoom out, zoom in, restore, and close, respectively.

Oh, and how big should the 'big' variants be?  I'm working in 32x32 at the moment, using button_small.tga as a background.
« Last Edit: 12 April 2016, 17:55:10 by filux »

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #11 on: 14 October 2010, 04:01:02 »
Code: [Select]
[URL=http://img100.imageshack.us/i/windowbuttons.png/][IMG]http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/2126/windowbuttons.png[/img][/URL]
How do these suit you?  I'm thinking these are minimize, zoom out, zoom in, restore, and close, respectively.

Oh, and how big should the 'big' variants be?  I'm working in 32x32 at the moment, using button_small.tga as a background.

Sweet, looks good :thumbup:

Ummm, those are actually 32x32, but they may look alright resampled down to 16 by OpenGL, so I'll try that...
« Last Edit: 12 April 2016, 17:55:39 by filux »
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

John.d.h

  • Moderator
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,757
  • I have to go now. My planet needs me.
    • View Profile
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #12 on: 14 October 2010, 04:18:00 »
Handles:
Code: [Select]
[URL=http://img809.imageshack.us/i/topleft.png/][IMG]http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/7946/topleft.png[/img][/URL][URL=http://img139.imageshack.us/i/toprightp.png/][IMG]http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/4628/toprightp.png[/img][/URL]
[URL=http://img257.imageshack.us/i/bottomlefte.png/][IMG]http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/3920/bottomlefte.png[/img][/URL][URL=http://img99.imageshack.us/i/bottomright.png/][IMG]http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/54/bottomright.png[/img][/URL]

Everything so far:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/3d8kb2188nkkm87/interface_buttons.7z

Any changes you want me to make would be pretty easy, as you can see it didn't take me long to make from scratch.


Edit: Sizing handle variants:

Code: [Select]
[URL=http://img827.imageshack.us/my.php?image=topleftsd.png][IMG]http://img827.imageshack.us/img827/624/topleftsd.png[/img][/URL][URL=http://img85.imageshack.us/my.php?image=toprightsd.png][IMG]http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/5900/toprightsd.png[/img][/URL]
[URL=http://img687.imageshack.us/my.php?image=bottomleftsd.png][IMG]http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/7923/bottomleftsd.png[/img][/URL][URL=http://img409.imageshack.us/my.php?image=bottomrightsd.png][IMG]http://img409.imageshack.us/img409/6098/bottomrightsd.png[/img][/URL]

[URL=http://img209.imageshack.us/my.php?image=topleftt.png][IMG]http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/9428/topleftt.png[/img][/URL][URL=http://img149.imageshack.us/my.php?image=toprightt.png][IMG]http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/4760/toprightt.png[/img][/URL]
[URL=http://img814.imageshack.us/my.php?image=bottomleftt.png][IMG]http://img814.imageshack.us/img814/9684/bottomleftt.png[/img][/URL][URL=http://img84.imageshack.us/my.php?image=bottomrightt.png][IMG]http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/5325/bottomrightt.png[/img][/URL]
« Last Edit: 12 April 2016, 17:56:29 by filux »

MirceaKitsune

  • Technician
  • ****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Ability to minimize the GUI boxes.
« Reply #13 on: 14 October 2010, 17:21:54 »
This would be a nice feature. Not only for screenshots, but also for a better configuration of the HUD (there could be moments when you want to temporarily get rid of a panel). I'm interested in resizing most... that's the HUD panel feature I'd love to see next :)

 

anything