Author Topic: Preset mipmaps?  (Read 2629 times)

ChupaReaper

Preset mipmaps?
« on: 24 February 2011, 16:11:07 »
I've noticed with my mod having loads of textures at around 512x512 it loads ok but sometimes it can overload the game and should I finish all five factions, there's probably not going to be enough memory by the time faction 3 is complete, this usually causes an out of memory problem to do with 2d mipmaps.
Using a mass resizing tool of some kind (I've got a few) I can quickly resize all my textures to smaller sizes resolving the problem but loosing the quality of the textures.
So instead, textures could have smaller sizes preset for mipmapping maybe? I'm no expert on all this but maybe a directories amongst a model's textures called 2x, 4x, 8x, etc or something like this could store smaller versions of each texture. Thing is if they all have to be loaded into memory it doesn't really make a difference if they're predefined does it?
There are loads of PC games that have huge amounts of textures, much more than my mod and they manage so there must be some way to deal with this memory issue?

hailstone

• Local Moderator
  • Battle Machine
    • View Profile
Re: Preset mipmaps?
« Reply #1 on: 25 February 2011, 00:06:33 »
Are mipmaps even being used? Doing a search for gluBuild2DMipmaps and glTexImage2D in the source shows that the level is set to 0 which is base only and therefore mipmapping isn't really being used (Edit: nevermind, I read the code wrong). Even if it is being used it takes an additional 1/3 of the texture size (the larger the level the less impact on size). So it's something you will need to work out with a texture allowance. I imagine other games dynamically load textures but for an RTS it really needs to be loaded from the start (maybe I'm wrong though).

There's a discussion on TA:Spring engine textures.
Other links:
http://www.dansdata.com/gz014.htm