Author Topic: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)  (Read 6890 times)

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #25 on: 18 March 2011, 18:54:06 »
Dose volcanic have them too?
I'll add it when GAE adds support for tileset particles (or a merger beta?).
Why then? All you need to test your tileset is a ~1 MB compressed binary...  ::)
A ~1 MB compressed binary that I do not have. It's not in a release yet, just the SVN.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

ultifd

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,443
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #26 on: 18 March 2011, 22:21:15 »
A ~1 MB compressed binary that I do not have. It's not in a release yet, just the SVN.
Do I really need to state things specifically?  ::) Anyways, I just thought that since I compiled binaries for you in the past, it was obvious that I meant I would compile it for you...Anyways, here it is: http://www.mediafire.com/?w7b313c2x9yly05

Ishmaru

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,071
  • um wat??
    • View Profile
    • DelphaDesign
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #27 on: 11 April 2011, 13:06:46 »
Does this the syntax differ when it used in resources? I cant seem to get it to work.
Annex: Conquer the World Release 4 For Pc Mac + Linux
https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9570.0
Annex is now on Facebook!
https://www.facebook.com/AnnexConquer

titi

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,239
    • View Profile
    • http://www.titusgames.de
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #28 on: 11 April 2011, 14:18:36 »

I am at work here, but from what I remember:

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" standalone="no"?>

<resource>
<image path="images/gold.bmp"/>
<type value="tech">
<model path="models/gold.g3d">
<particles value="true">
<particle-file path="particles.xml"/>
</particles>
</model>
<default-amount value="2000"/>
<resource-number value="1"/>
</type>
</resource>
Try Megaglest! Improved Engine / New factions / New tilesets / New maps / New scenarios

Ishmaru

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,071
  • um wat??
    • View Profile
    • DelphaDesign
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #29 on: 14 April 2011, 16:43:46 »
Thanks titi! Here i used static particles to make crystals glow:
(click to show/hide)
Annex: Conquer the World Release 4 For Pc Mac + Linux
https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9570.0
Annex is now on Facebook!
https://www.facebook.com/AnnexConquer

Mr War

  • Guest
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #30 on: 14 April 2011, 20:43:20 »
what would be cool is for a player to have the ability to turn them off/on in the game set-up without affecting other players. I know this is asking a lot, but these could be a pain on poorer machines. Don't get me wrong, they look great!!! :D

Ishmaru

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,071
  • um wat??
    • View Profile
    • DelphaDesign
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #31 on: 14 April 2011, 22:58:19 »
what would be cool is for a player to have the ability to turn them off/on in the game set-up without affecting other players. I know this is asking a lot, but these could be a pain on poorer machines. Don't get me wrong, they look great!!! :D
You can since 3.5 beta 2. In Options section you have options to turn off unit particles and option to turn off tileset particles. :)  As far as i know they shouldn't effect other players in multiplayer.
Annex: Conquer the World Release 4 For Pc Mac + Linux
https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9570.0
Annex is now on Facebook!
https://www.facebook.com/AnnexConquer

softcoder

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 2,238
    • View Profile
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #32 on: 15 April 2011, 01:08:00 »
Absolutely true Ishmaru, 3.5 release is coming shortly, just waiting now for translations.

treba

  • Guest
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #33 on: 15 April 2011, 10:04:56 »
that crystals look just awesome!

John.d.h

  • Moderator
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,757
  • I have to go now. My planet needs me.
    • View Profile
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #34 on: 15 April 2011, 10:12:34 »
Have you considered making the crystals partially transparent?


Ishmaru

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,071
  • um wat??
    • View Profile
    • DelphaDesign
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #35 on: 15 April 2011, 12:14:38 »
Hey softcoder do you think its possible to have units with particles that could be classified as tileset particles? For example having a tank with 2 particles one is a dust trail when unit moves the other is a particle for when it attacks. Could there be a way to have the dust trail enabled/disabled using tileset particle switch, while the attack particles are enabled/disabled using unit particle switch.
 This may be defined in the xmls:
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" standalone="yes"?>
<unit-particle-system>
    <texture value="true" path="images/particle_1.bmp" luminance="true"/>....
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" standalone="yes"?>
<tileset-particle-system>
    <texture value="true" path="images/particle_2.bmp" luminance="true"/>....

Is this possible?

Have you considered making the crystals partially transparent?



I didn't think so but i could try it.
Annex: Conquer the World Release 4 For Pc Mac + Linux
https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9570.0
Annex is now on Facebook!
https://www.facebook.com/AnnexConquer

titi

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,239
    • View Profile
    • http://www.titusgames.de
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #36 on: 15 April 2011, 13:44:08 »
its possible, but maybe it behaves a bit different compared to old glest.
I had to change the behaviour to allow details like leaves in objects without strange effects for selecting and displaying.

Best is you try it! Somehow it still works because I saw it lately in the vbros packs.
Try Megaglest! Improved Engine / New factions / New tilesets / New maps / New scenarios

Ishmaru

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,071
  • um wat??
    • View Profile
    • DelphaDesign
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #37 on: 16 April 2011, 04:16:20 »
Hey softcoder do you think its possible to have units with particles that could be classified as tileset particles? For example having a tank with 2 particles one is a dust trail when unit moves the other is a particle for when it attacks. Could there be a way to have the dust trail enabled/disabled using tileset particle switch, while the attack particles are enabled/disabled using unit particle switch.
 This may be defined in the xmls:
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" standalone="yes"?>
<unit-particle-system>
    <texture value="true" path="images/particle_1.bmp" luminance="true"/>....
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" standalone="yes"?>
<tileset-particle-system>
    <texture value="true" path="images/particle_2.bmp" luminance="true"/>....

its possible, but maybe it behaves a bit different compared to old glest.
I had to change the behaviour to allow details like leaves in objects without strange effects for selecting and displaying.

Best is you try it! Somehow it still works because I saw it lately in the vbros packs.

Doesn't work for me unless it somehow works in svn. What i want is a unit to be able to have a "tileset" particle, thus turned on/of using the "tileset particle" check box
in options.
Annex: Conquer the World Release 4 For Pc Mac + Linux
https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9570.0
Annex is now on Facebook!
https://www.facebook.com/AnnexConquer

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #38 on: 16 April 2011, 05:10:15 »
I don't think that works for tilesets. For units, it should, but for some reason, models in tilesets are read differently, ignoring single/double sided models, animations, etc. Perhaps that could be the problem?
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Ishmaru

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,071
  • um wat??
    • View Profile
    • DelphaDesign
Re: particles in tilesets( update: in resources now too)
« Reply #39 on: 20 April 2011, 04:46:38 »
Another issue is that if i turn off tileset particles, they turn off resource glow, but units such as the refinery still glow red cause the crystals are suppose to glow. This looks visually strange. This could be avoided if you can set some unit particles to be toggle-able with the tileset particles option.
Annex: Conquer the World Release 4 For Pc Mac + Linux
https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9570.0
Annex is now on Facebook!
https://www.facebook.com/AnnexConquer