Author Topic: Building the Git-Master for Military  (Read 2087 times)

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Building the Git-Master for Military
« on: 31 May 2011, 21:31:25 »
@Omega, 'in this zip':
 - deleted widget.cfg (was missing vital functions)
 - added cloak group 'stealth' to stealth_bomber cloak node & aa-launcher detector node.
 - rename defeat messages and global lang file (should be 'en.lng')
also,
 - probably best not to distribute shaders, you may override newer ones.

Thanks, sorry about that. It was really a 10 second zip from a fairly dated version of GAE (snapshot please?). The widget file was outdated because it's from an older version of GAE (this may make it hard to create a custom layout, if it changes in the future... Any ideas on how to improve on that?). I wasn't actually aware of changes to stealth. What are these changes and where is there more information (update the wiki?)? Was the language style changed too? And finally, shaders were a mistake, due to the bad conversion from the old distribution method to the addons format.

Thanks for the changes and re-upload, I'll be sure that they will be fixed before an official release (after 0.4).

Edit: I'd long since given up on ever using VS ever again (last time I tried to fix the problem it had, I destroyed my registry and had to revert to a backup), so perhaps I'll give it another shot with codeblocks... Granted, I'm rusty from all the time away, but time to build the knowledge back up (kinda sad, VS was the only IDE I ever really knew, and actually did compile Glest in it before). Let me consult the Oracle CompileGuideWin.

Edit2: Jeesh... TurtoiseGit is once more stuck on 7%.... And that's 24.5mb... at that rate, the entire source code is 350mb, and presumably that does not include the dependencies, as I downloaded them separately... What makes it so huge? Any way to do it better?
« Last Edit: 1 June 2011, 05:10:35 by Omega »
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Building the Git-Master for Military
« Reply #1 on: 1 June 2011, 13:07:16 »
Edit2: Jeesh... TurtoiseGit is once more stuck on 7%.... And that's 24.5mb... at that rate, the entire source code is 350mb, and presumably that does not include the dependencies, as I downloaded them separately... What makes it so huge? Any way to do it better?

The entire repository is around 300 MiB uncompressed, git compresses everything it sends, and from memory a git clone of the repo should be ~75 MiB.

It contains all revision history, which increases the size somewhat, but git is very efficient with that too (you can do a 'shallow' clone, ignoring all the history, in tortoise's clone dialog use the 'depth' option (set to 0)). Most of the space is taken up by the contents of the data directory though (ie, magitech), and a shallow clone is not likely to be much smaller than a regular one.

You could also download just the source, bypassing git... current 'head' (< 1 MiB), this option requires a new download to update of course... and your own data to point the built binary at.  To get the 'latest' at any time later, go here and select the 'source' folder, then click the 'snapshot' link.

Note on dependencies: If you only want to build the game (and not the tools), you only need windeps_base.zip (5.4 MB).

Note on Code::Blocks and Windows: no one had tried this yet as I am aware... so assistance may be hard to come by, I'm planning to try Eclipse CDT on windows one day, which I now use on linux, but to be honest this is unlikely to happen any time soon, as I simply don't need it (or want it really... its nice, but doesn't come close to visual studio...)
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

hailstone

  • Local Moderator
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,568
    • View Profile
Building the Git-Master for Military
« Reply #2 on: 1 June 2011, 17:07:49 »
If git doesn't override existing files you could copy the data files in before trying to clone.
Glest Advanced Engine - Admin/Programmer
https://sourceforge.net/projects/glestae/

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Building the Git-Master for Military
« Reply #3 on: 2 June 2011, 03:22:24 »
I split this topic to prevent going too offtopic.

Now, I managed to get it downloaded, thanks to the school's more dependable internet along with the depth of zero tip before. I got it to compile, but I believe the reasoning behind the current non-working state is due to incorrect folders set in the build settings. I followed as per the Compiling Guide, but I need to be able to use the executable with Military, so have to copy it to another folder, which will contain the data in that. So, what do you guys use for the working directory when you release a snapshot for everyone? And where would this end up placed (in a bin folder like before or will/is GAE back to how Glest's original folder structure was)?

Also, a rather nooby question: The TortuousGit context menu has a lot of stuff... Which option would I use to check all files for updates and download them?

Thanks. So close!  :)
« Last Edit: 2 June 2011, 03:26:28 by Omega »
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

ultifd

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,443
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: Building the Git-Master for Military
« Reply #4 on: 2 June 2011, 03:42:57 »
Also, a rather nooby question: The TortuousGit context menu has a lot of stuff... Which option would I use to check all files for updates and download them?
"Pull"

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Building the Git-Master for Military
« Reply #5 on: 2 June 2011, 04:06:40 »
At least, I think I have the paths wrong... Really wierd actually... Does this even support relative paths?

This is the error I got from trying the latest Git version, using the data from that version:

Code: [Select]
Glest Advanced Engine: Error log file. 01-Jun-2011_22-02-16

While running widget.cfg,
Error loading '/data/gui/textures/mouse.png'
Error loading widget.cfg, setMouseTexture(): texture named 'mouse-set' has not been loaded, or load failed.
Error loading widget.cfg : styles for GameWidgetFrame could not be loaded.
While loading background style for widget type 'CONSOLE'
loading 'Colours'
An error occurred loading core data.
Please see ../configdir/glestadv-error.log

Note that "configdir" in the last line seems to be missing a slash. If I run the executable without any variables telling where the data and config dirs should be, it creates a folder that is like the path (minus the slashes and drive letter) I had set for the data directory in cmake (though, I assumed that could be over-ridden with the command line "-datadir". "UsersuserDocumentsProgrammingglestaedatagame".

This is using the same folder structure as 0.3.2, and the data and config dirs set as following:
Code: [Select]
glestadv.exe -configdir ../configdir/ -datadir ../share/glestae/
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: Building the Git-Master for Military
« Reply #6 on: 2 June 2011, 22:08:15 »
This is using the same folder structure as 0.3.2, and the data and config dirs set as following:
Code: [Select]
glestadv.exe -configdir ../configdir/ -datadir ../share/glestae/

Are you sure that's the git data you are pointing it at? .... looks like it is loading an old widget.cfg.

Relative paths work ok, but the installer generated shortcuts start in 'prog files/glestadv' not in the bin subdirectory, which can cause some confusion.

If you wish to to place the binary with the the data, set the datadir in cmake to '.' (meaning here), and yes, command line options for datadir and configdir overwrite the defaults that were set in cmake.

Try again after a git pull, the current widget.cfg in git should give no errors.
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Building the Git-Master for Military
« Reply #7 on: 2 June 2011, 23:51:39 »
Woo! Got it! Making the folder structure like original Glest's, along with setting the config and data dir both to "." got it working. Though, now those changes to cloaking prevent Military from working with it.... What all needs to be changed?
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

silnarm

  • Local Moderator
  • Behemoth
  • ********
  • Posts: 1,373
    • View Profile
Re: Building the Git-Master for Military
« Reply #8 on: 3 June 2011, 09:57:39 »
Cloaks need to specify a 'group' they belong to (this determines which detectors can see them).
Code: [Select]
<cloak type='permanent'>
   <group value='stealth' />
   <!-- . . . -->
</cloak>

Detectors need a type now, but for now it must be 'permanent', and they need either a group node or a groups node, indicating which cloaks it can detect.
Code: [Select]
<detector type='permanent'>
   <group value='stealth' />
   <!-- . . . -->
</detector>

If you wish the detector to detect multiple cloak groups, specify <groups> instead of <group> and then put all required group nodes within that.
Glest Advanced Engine - Code Monkey

Timeline | Downloads

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Building the Git-Master for Military
« Reply #9 on: 3 June 2011, 15:08:29 »
Ah, excellent! I was wanting that feature request. Perhaps if no group exists, they could be part of a "default" group, so those who don't have a cloak value, for backwards-capability, would still work?
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

 

anything