Author Topic: [Request]Hotkeys for commands  (Read 1035 times)

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
[Request]Hotkeys for commands
« on: 4 July 2011, 19:50:42 »
each skill should be able to have a hotkey defined in the XML.

fx, Move could have a [M] assigned so when a unit is selected and you click M and use the skill.
« Last Edit: 16 July 2012, 22:08:12 by Coldfusionstorm »
WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"

MuwuM

  • Ornithopter
  • *****
  • Posts: 426
  • No Game without Move(ment)
    • View Profile
    • MuwuM - Lexicons
Re: [Request]Hotkeys for skills
« Reply #1 on: 5 July 2011, 02:29:05 »
This could become a Feature making Glest more interesting for Pro-Gamers who need fast gameplay, but could create some trouble with the keys, that are set with functions, yet....

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: [Request]Hotkeys for skills
« Reply #2 on: 5 July 2011, 02:37:46 »
It also should NOT be for skills, but for commands.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Re: [Request]Hotkeys for skills
« Reply #3 on: 14 July 2011, 21:37:39 »
This would be VERY usefull, and could be easily defined in the XML, mods who use this could either have default hotkeys disabled(or have them mapped differently perhaps custom defined)

a first time implemention would be

<skill>
<hotkey="E"/>
</skill>

This would need a feature that know when you have a unit selected or not.

when you have a unit selected, hotkeys for UNITS are ENABLED
when you DONT have a unit selected, hotkeys for UNITS are DISABLED AND Interface hotkeys are enabled!

WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: [Request]Hotkeys for skills
« Reply #4 on: 15 July 2011, 04:38:58 »
<skill>
<hotkey="E"/>
</skill>
Again, though, it should not be for skills, it should be for commands, eg:
Code: [Select]
<command>
<hotkey="e" />
</command>

A skill just defines the parameters of the action, the command is the ability to use that action. If a unit has a produce skill, but no produce command, it can't produce anything. As well, you can use the same produce skill for three different produce commands, each which may produce the same unit. A good example is how move is usually used in multiple commands, even though you can use a separate move skill (eg, the swordman has a separate charge move skill for his attack command), most units in mods use the same for all commands.

The bottom line, it has to be on commands, not skills.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Re: [Request]Hotkeys for skills
« Reply #5 on: 15 July 2011, 11:27:00 »
allright, command it is then, i just get confused but i guess it makes sense if you think about it.
WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"