Author Topic: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.  (Read 2545 times)

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« on: 26 October 2011, 18:42:05 »
The thought is a skill/command that stores a unit for later exstraction.(Note im not intimate with the command VS skill differences).

The "-"command decides wich units are NOT allowed in. I chose this because the default behavior is to allow all units to get in.

if the attack command is "true" the units inside is allowed to attack behaving to thier normal unit behavior.
there is still the problem of WHERE the attack should come from. From wich points in the storage unit the attack should come from.

The Storage mechanism.
this allows another storage skill to empty the same bank of units. a bank can only be acessed by ONE skill at a time.


here is a example skill

<skill name="Tunnel">
<skill type="storage"/>
<allowed units>
<alow unit="-swordmand">
<can-attack="false">
<storage id="1">

Thats it. Please read it, and feedback id like to get these mechanism down so all we have to do is say to the devs, we like this please put it in and they can look at it and have a reasonable standpoint to code from.
WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"

John.d.h

  • Moderator
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,757
  • I have to go now. My planet needs me.
    • View Profile
Re: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« Reply #1 on: 26 October 2011, 19:09:19 »
It may be possible to port the feature over from GAE.  The syntax is a lot cleaner too. :look:

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Re: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« Reply #2 on: 26 October 2011, 19:24:48 »
I don't know of this in GAE, i looked at the Wiki

Code: [Select]
https://docs.megaglest.org/XML/Skills
Would you mind linking it?
« Last Edit: 18 June 2016, 18:43:09 by filux »
WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"

John.d.h

  • Moderator
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,757
  • I have to go now. My planet needs me.
    • View Profile
Re: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« Reply #3 on: 26 October 2011, 19:54:44 »
I wouldn't be able to find it in the wiki, but it has been in GAE for a long time now: http://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/glestae/ticket/141

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« Reply #4 on: 27 October 2011, 06:01:28 »
The wonderful wiki link: Transports (Loading / Unloading)

I don't know of this in GAE, i looked at the Wiki

Code: [Select]
https://docs.megaglest.org/XML/Skills
And ironically, it's on that page too, as well as the commands XML page.
https://docs.megaglest.org/XML/Skills#Load
https://docs.megaglest.org/XML/Skills#Unload
https://docs.megaglest.org/XML/Commands#Load
https://docs.megaglest.org/XML/Commands#Unload
« Last Edit: 18 June 2016, 18:19:24 by filux »
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Re: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« Reply #5 on: 27 October 2011, 13:09:47 »
Sounds like its exactly what we need, im not sure if my implementation is better tho, the thing about GAE is that the devs would be able to see some actually code and then "just" adapt it.

Nice posting the XML's but my idea deals somewhat with HOW its done, and by storing units this way you can ALSO have tunnels additions to all the other stuff.
WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"

wciow

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 968
    • View Profile
Re: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« Reply #6 on: 31 October 2011, 14:38:53 »
I say use or adapt the existing GAE code, there is no need to reinvent the wheel on this one and it helps modders when things are common across engines  :)
Check out my new Goblin faction - https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9658.0

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« Reply #7 on: 31 October 2011, 19:16:31 »
I say use or adapt the existing GAE code, there is no need to reinvent the wheel on this one and it helps modders when things are common across engines  :)
This. :thumbup:

Do we really want to get into this kind of discussion again?
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

andy_5995

  • Moderator
  • Ornithopter
  • ********
  • Posts: 474
  • Debian Linux user
    • View Profile
    • Andy Alt's home page
Re: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« Reply #8 on: 10 April 2019, 22:24:02 »
I don't think the code above for patrol, load, unload, etc has been ported over to MG yet.

I just did a type of bunker implementation in this data commit on the elves mod.

It will store 4 archers.
« Last Edit: 10 April 2019, 22:30:20 by andy_5995 »

Pizza90

  • Draco Rider
  • *****
  • Posts: 282
    • View Profile
Re: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« Reply #9 on: 12 April 2019, 11:35:51 »
Storing units would be great! I remember Warcraft 3 had moving units which could be loaded into moving units, so cool!
Andy does it mean that to use such bunker we need to wait to have loading to be ported to MG?
I translated Megaglest in italian and i keep the translation updated.

andy_5995

  • Moderator
  • Ornithopter
  • ********
  • Posts: 474
  • Debian Linux user
    • View Profile
    • Andy Alt's home page
Re: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« Reply #10 on: 12 April 2019, 19:43:37 »
Storing units would be great! I remember Warcraft 3 had moving units which could be loaded into moving units, so cool!
Andy does it mean that to use such bunker we need to wait to have loading to be ported to MG?

The lore_house/bunker is implemented in elves_A4. Units can't be loaded or unloaded. Up to 4 units can be produced and stored in the lore house but they can't ever leave until the lore house is destroyed.

This thread is a very old feature request so I doubt that true bunker implementation will be ported to MG.

Pizza90

  • Draco Rider
  • *****
  • Posts: 282
    • View Profile
Re: Store Units /Transport units/Tunnels/bunkers.
« Reply #11 on: 12 April 2019, 20:04:22 »
Yes it is from 2011...But then again, water units were an old request too, and they were implemented in a MG fork...I still hope MG's AI can be improved to make it use water units ad finally port them to MG. So maybe store units will happen too..
I translated Megaglest in italian and i keep the translation updated.

 

anything