Author Topic: mega cpu is bad in beta ( with possible fix )  (Read 1458 times)

titi

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,227
    • View Profile
    • http://www.titusgames.de
mega cpu is bad in beta ( with possible fix )
« on: 11 November 2011, 01:24:56 »
Ultra CPUs fights llike mad now and mega is bad :/ . Somehow this is caused by the fast unit reaction and  our AI got a different behaviour now.

What about the idea of having this fast unit reaction only attack related?
So anycommand->attack command and attack command->anycommand is fast now. Everything else is like in 3.5.2.
This fixes many bad behaviours( fast steps and so on ) of the workers and the AI behaves different.
I already tried it and ( at least for me ) its much better now and Mega is mega strong again   ;D .

this is the patch:
put/replace this in unit.cpp line 1251:
http://pastebin.com/28zpuzJK

Attention if we check this in, svn is no longer compatible to the beta and we must switch the version string!
« Last Edit: 14 November 2011, 12:42:48 by titi »
Try Megaglest! Improved Engine / New factions / New tilesets / New maps / New scenarios

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Re: mega cpu is bad in beta
« Reply #1 on: 11 November 2011, 03:55:34 »
TL:DR:"Issue" not a bug, Solution proposed is a bug or at the very least close to it..Also, Coldfusionstorm is all in for a feature that adds a reaction time string/feature to skill and commands.

No, if you really think this is a issue add a reaction time to skills and or commands commands.

have you tought about that the mega CPU might simply suck?

And, i would like to note that fast unit reactions is how units should work,The only true restraing of reaction speed should be in relation to network latency ect, If you purposely want a unit to reacty slowly, il suggest taking this to the Feature requst forum.

Not a bug imo. skill/command speed was fixed, and now other bugs show up as a result. bugging skill/command times again is just... i mean why add a bug that was fixed?
« Last Edit: 11 November 2011, 04:04:04 by Coldfusionstorm »
WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"

titi

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,227
    • View Profile
    • http://www.titusgames.de
Re: mega cpu is bad in beta ( with possible fix )
« Reply #2 on: 11 November 2011, 10:13:51 »
8) of course but what we would need for it is:
1. a new way to switch from one animation to the next one
2. a new AI logic as the old one gets broken with these fast commands

If you change these tiny things in the code we can do it :-D

Try Megaglest! Improved Engine / New factions / New tilesets / New maps / New scenarios

MuwuM

  • Ornithopter
  • *****
  • Posts: 426
  • No Game without Move(ment)
    • View Profile
    • MuwuM - Lexicons
Re: mega cpu is bad in beta ( with possible fix )
« Reply #3 on: 11 November 2011, 10:19:11 »
If you change these tiny things in the code we can do it :-D

"tiny"... you just have to fix about 1000-5000 lines of code ;)

titi

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,227
    • View Profile
    • http://www.titusgames.de
Re: mega cpu is bad in beta ( with possible fix )
« Reply #4 on: 11 November 2011, 10:43:43 »
But for real, I don't see why this should effect the gameplay so much. Why is fast reaction needed for anything else than fighting? You really want workers who jump up from mining in a millisecond? It will look unrealistic and always remember, this is not a DOTA game! I bet you will see no big difference while playing. @Coldfusionstorm: maybe you can try it ? ( its not in svn yet you need to try it manually if you know what to do.
Try Megaglest! Improved Engine / New factions / New tilesets / New maps / New scenarios

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Re: mega cpu is bad in beta ( with possible fix )
« Reply #5 on: 11 November 2011, 10:48:03 »
Its the concept of changing something to a liniar model instead of keeping it dynamic, just make it a exstra string in skills/command, and people can use whatever they want for mods.

Some mods require fast mining other does not
WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"

Ishmaru

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,070
  • um wat??
    • View Profile
    • DelphaDesign
Re: mega cpu is bad in beta ( with possible fix )
« Reply #6 on: 11 November 2011, 22:28:04 »
Its the concept of changing something to a liniar model instead of keeping it dynamic, just make it a exstra string in skills/command, and people can use whatever they want for mods.

Some mods require fast mining other does not

I'm not to fond of the delays, especially in a mod that is meant for fast gameplay...

It may be best if a modder has an option to use either the old method or the new one. If possible :)
Annex: Conquer the World Release 4 For Pc Mac + Linux
https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9570.0
Annex is now on Facebook!
https://www.facebook.com/AnnexConquer

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Re: mega cpu is bad in beta ( with possible fix )
« Reply #7 on: 12 November 2011, 08:46:50 »
LR:DR Im tirred if repeating myself, Make a option inwhere the modder can chose between a number from 0-1000 Where 0 is instant and 1000 is whatever. and just one more time.

And all i am saying is:Implement it as a string that be attached to skills and or commands

Then you can pick and chose from a range thats goes from instant to 10 minutes if thats what you want.

Don't just do it halfassed when we can have option that can make virtually EVERYBODY happy.

What if i deem that some units abilitys should have have a slow reaction time?,fx a mortar that needs to take down his equipment before moving on?

what if i have a unit that only carries a gun and so he can move around very freely and should have a instant reaction.

AND, To be perfect honest i have seen NO issues with the normalised unit reactions, its not fast, its normal. Units should not be a long time about reacting to your command that makes for slow and uninituive gameplay. imo.
« Last Edit: 12 November 2011, 08:52:53 by Coldfusionstorm »
WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"

Omega

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,167
  • Professional bug writer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: mega cpu is bad in beta ( with possible fix )
« Reply #8 on: 12 November 2011, 09:58:58 »
Bearing in mind that any reaction time over 150 ms is not realistic either, as the average human reaction time is 150-300 ms, probably a fair bit slower than our CPU friends.
Edit the MegaGlest wiki: http://docs.megaglest.org/

My personal projects: http://github.com/KatrinaHoffert

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Re: mega cpu is bad in beta ( with possible fix )
« Reply #9 on: 15 November 2011, 21:15:05 »
Bearing in mind that any reaction time over 150 ms is not realistic either, as the average human reaction time is 150-300 ms, probably a fair bit slower than our CPU friends.

You mean under right?

And i bet im just as fast to percive or close to a AI, the problem is getting my hands to keep up with my mind, but thats not what this is about.
WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"

MuwuM

  • Ornithopter
  • *****
  • Posts: 426
  • No Game without Move(ment)
    • View Profile
    • MuwuM - Lexicons
Re: mega cpu is bad in beta ( with possible fix )
« Reply #10 on: 15 November 2011, 21:24:56 »
I think atleast mega-cpu should react much faster then human, to make them strong enought to defeat 2-3 human easily.

 

anything