Author Topic: Some questions.  (Read 1471 times)

Birdy

Some questions.
« on: 3 May 2012, 17:34:55 »
Hi there!

Im quite new to glest and to programming stuff. I searched the web but I found nothing that answered my questions... So here they are:

1. How to install a mod om megaglest? I know  ::) theres a mod page but it doesnt show things like the Elvish, Dwarven or African mod... So how do you install it?

2. I downloaded the Ming and jappanese mod via the mod tab in megaglest. But when you play it you can only be japanse. Is there a way to add the jappanese mod into the megapack? (If you dont understand my question: Can you make a "ultrapack" which includes magic, jappanese, ming, tech, romains, Elves, Dwarfs ect???)

3. Can someone post a download link for the woodsman mod? (The download links in the topic dont work...)

Thanks!

tomreyn

• MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
    • View Profile
    • MegaGlest - the free and open source cross platform 3D real-time strategy game
Re: Some questions.
« Reply #1 on: 3 May 2012, 18:19:22 »
Hi Birdy, and welcome to the MegaGlest forums. I'll try to answer your questions thorougly.

1. How to install a mod om megaglest? I know  ::) theres a mod page but it doesnt show things like the Elvish, Dwarven or African mod... So how do you install it?

There's exactly one proper way of structuring a MegaGlest mod. How to do this, depends on the type of mod (techtrees, tilesets, maps, scenarios). What you listed (Elvish, Dwarven, African) are probably either factions or techtrees (which consist of one or more factions and other data). Historically modders who created factions didn't place them in techtrees, but made them available 'as is', to be placed in the existing Megapack techtree. This is no longer supported, so modders need to create their own techtree now, even if they only have a single faction and want to reuse existing Megapack content/data.