Author Topic: Rendering Issues  (Read 3927 times)

quaniit

Rendering Issues
« on: 22 August 2012, 18:35:13 »
I'm new to modding so pardon my stupidity but every time I run the GAE and attempt to start a game, the initialization freezes at 'Initializing Renderer' and I get the following line in terminal:
Code: [Select]
glestadv: main/formats.c:1890: _mesa_format_image_size64: Assertion `depth == 1' failed.
If anyone could tell me what this is or how to fix it, it would be greatly appreciated.  ^^;

will

• Golem
    • View Profile
Re: Rendering Issues
« Reply #1 on: 23 August 2012, 06:30:05 »
Intriguing!  A very new graphics card, or a very old card...?

What operating system are you on?  What kind of graphics card do you have?

What is the output of the glxinfo program?  (or, is it not installed?)

Yggdrasil

• Local Moderator
  • Ornithopter
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 23 August 2012, 17:16:49 »
Please uninstall libtxc_dxtn! Texture compression is broken for us with newer versions of mesa. If you are running the latest git version you can leave it installed and just set 'RenderCompressTextures=true' in ~/.glestadv/glestadv.ini.

Good old mesa doesn't support compressed 3D textures and just aborts with an assert fail.

quaniit

« Reply #3 on: 4 September 2012, 17:28:33 »
Thank you all so much for the feedback.  After looking at the .ini I found that RenderCompressTextures was already set to true.  So I changed that to false to see what it would do and it seems to have fixed my problem.

Yggdrasil

• Local Moderator
  • Ornithopter
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 9 September 2012, 12:22:57 »
Oops, sorry. Yeah, i meant false.

Maybe we should add an extra option for the compression of 3D textures. As far as i can tell we only use one 3D texture for water, nothing else. It's a shame to not have texture compression on open source drivers just because of that.

hailstone

• Local Moderator
  • Battle Machine
    • View Profile