Author Topic: [done]health bars (old topic relaunch!)  (Read 7215 times)

Ishmaru

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,070
  • um wat??
    • View Profile
    • DelphaDesign
Re: health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #50 on: 30 October 2014, 13:37:26 »
Got to try it out this morning, the bars look and work great! however for some reason I still get the old circles as well. any method to turn them off?
Annex: Conquer the World Release 4 For Pc Mac + Linux
https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9570.0
Annex is now on Facebook!
https://www.facebook.com/AnnexConquer

titi_son

  • Draco Rider
  • *****
  • Posts: 283
  • titi_son
    • View Profile
Re: health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #51 on: 30 October 2014, 18:52:51 »
well i dont know but titi merged my pull request XD
And i just forgot to mention that I wanted to do both. ... sry
A faction-related option but u can disable it in the options menu.
i will add a hotkey and maybe an option for the hp bars in the menu.
My first Tilseset: SPRING :) (included in Megaglest )

Secret Hint: To play online join the IRC #megaglest-lobby on freenode which is the lobby chat ingame. So you can chat with or wait for people in the lobby without running megaglest all the time.

filux

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Draco Rider
  • ********
  • Posts: 310
  • was OpenSuse x64, is Debian testing x64
    • View Profile
Re: health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #52 on: 30 October 2014, 21:03:50 »
I agree with Omega -> players' choose,
I agree with John.d.h -> for megaglest/megapack circles look better.

For me, bars (for megapack etc.) may be useful sometimes when I want review the health, accessible for example by a hotkey.
Additionally for me 100% of health is not an interesting information and 'full green' should be somehow hidden (very transparent or something).


titi

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,226
    • View Profile
    • http://www.titusgames.de
Re: health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #53 on: 31 October 2014, 00:12:15 »
@Ishmaru: the healthbars do not replace the rings! You still need something to indicate the selected state of the units. Healthbars to show the selected state are a very bad idea in my opinion.
« Last Edit: 31 October 2014, 00:19:25 by titi »
Try Megaglest! Improved Engine / New factions / New tilesets / New maps / New scenarios

Ishmaru

  • Behemoth
  • *******
  • Posts: 1,070
  • um wat??
    • View Profile
    • DelphaDesign
Re: health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #54 on: 31 October 2014, 01:49:48 »
@Ishmaru: the healthbars do not replace the rings! You still need something to indicate the selected state of the units. Healthbars to show the selected state are a very bad idea in my opinion.

@titi: Agreed, but having an hp ring indicator, ep ring indicator, and hp and ep bars all at once is overkill, ugly, and very difficult to read.

- How about when hp bars are enabled then selection is shown by a thin circle that's just the team color? Much more clean and easy to read :)

Annex: Conquer the World Release 4 For Pc Mac + Linux
https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9570.0
Annex is now on Facebook!
https://www.facebook.com/AnnexConquer

titi

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,226
    • View Profile
    • http://www.titusgames.de
Re: health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #55 on: 31 October 2014, 09:37:23 »
good suggestion
Try Megaglest! Improved Engine / New factions / New tilesets / New maps / New scenarios

titi_son

  • Draco Rider
  • *****
  • Posts: 283
  • titi_son
    • View Profile
Re: health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #56 on: 7 November 2014, 17:32:47 »
Not finished yet but now you can specify textures and there is a hotkey *yay*

The Hotkey is on # per derfault

Add one of the following lines to the healthbar xml node ! only works in faction.xml !
Code: [Select]
<healthbar>
<height value="1"/>
<thickness value="0.05"/>
<visible value="damaged|selected|always"/>
    <borderTexture enabled="true" (path="border.png")/>
    <backgroundTexture enabled="false" (path="border2.png")/>
</healthbar>
The path is optional. If not given he will use the default textures found in data/core/misc_textures/healthbar.png or healthbarBackground.png
I also changed the default height ( so the height which is used if no height is given ).

The only thing which is left now is the switch in the options menu. (And a small bug ... the default textures need to be png files at the moment cause i am dump  :P )
« Last Edit: 7 November 2014, 22:08:00 by titi »
My first Tilseset: SPRING :) (included in Megaglest )

Secret Hint: To play online join the IRC #megaglest-lobby on freenode which is the lobby chat ingame. So you can chat with or wait for people in the lobby without running megaglest all the time.

titi

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,226
    • View Profile
    • http://www.titusgames.de
Re: [done]health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #57 on: 21 November 2014, 14:06:30 »
the selection rings are missing and in another topic coldfusionstorm mentioned "production bars" http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=hW2vVbJSi2E#t=2549

( the other old  topic  https://forum.megaglest.org/index.php?topic=9396.0 )
Try Megaglest! Improved Engine / New factions / New tilesets / New maps / New scenarios

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Re: [partly done]health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #58 on: 22 November 2014, 02:59:02 »
I just Tried this today looking SOOO good!, It is really food for the eyes, But the version i just built 03:55 22-11-14 There is still healthbars on the ground, is this because it is not changed yet? or is it still in suggestion mode?.
WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"

titi

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,226
    • View Profile
    • http://www.titusgames.de
done, please test
« Reply #59 on: 23 November 2014, 00:45:32 »
ok all should be done now. You need to checkout source AND data this time!

To see the healthbars you can:
* go to options and select your healthbar mode
* toggle through modes with hotkey ( default is "#" ) in the game
* define it in the faction
* and you can do some things in the unit itself too.

If you have healthbars on ground the height of the unit does not fit. Some units which are meant with such a low or high height might need to set an individual height for the healthbar.!!

@atze : the textures for healthbars were buggy, try it now.

« Last Edit: 23 November 2014, 00:55:33 by titi »
Try Megaglest! Improved Engine / New factions / New tilesets / New maps / New scenarios

kagu

  • Administrator
  • Horseman
  • ********
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
Re: [done please test]health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #60 on: 23 November 2014, 18:48:43 »
Just played 2 games with this , it looks awesome and useful , I always put damage units at back and sometimes repair with shaman.
Also the production bar is very useful, maybe add a number to tell "Orders On Queue" ? or too much ?
Megaglest Chat
Please support:
1. CEGUI 2. In-process games 3. Registered Players
Playtime:
Every Sunday 21:00 - 01:00 CET

titi

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,226
    • View Profile
    • http://www.titusgames.de
Re: [done please test]health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #61 on: 24 November 2014, 10:22:27 »
yes I thought about the number of commands too, but I think its too much ( and I don't know how to add it at the moment :D )
Try Megaglest! Improved Engine / New factions / New tilesets / New maps / New scenarios

Coldfusionstorm

  • Golem
  • ******
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Re: [done please test]health bars (old topic relaunch!)
« Reply #62 on: 24 November 2014, 10:25:49 »
I agree,Numbers of commands would reduce game clarity, and good players should have a sense of how many units are being produced anyways.

I tried the latest git out, it looks really great now!, Loves this feature. Still need to test it some more.

PS:Titi , Have you forgotten to turn on IRC again?
« Last Edit: 24 November 2014, 10:39:54 by Coldfusionstorm »
WiP Game developer.
I do danish translations.
"i break stuff"

 

anything