Author Topic: How bad/good am I? (Or could we just say CPU first Thiemo second?)  (Read 692 times)

thiemo

• Swordman
    • View Profile
I'm rather new to MegaGlest - many thanks to all the authors of the game, it's just great - though I have played WarCraft I and II quite a while.

Now, I played the tutorial and tried some scenarios before I set up my own. I started with the eight opponent wheel where I made two parties. All CPU Mega 2.5 apart from me. I placed myself in the centre as Indian the others "equally" spread at the perimeter with random cultures. I invariably was eradicated rather sooner than later. I then placed an opponent in the centre and myself at the outside. In one occasion we won and I survived but just so. I came to the conclusion that the centre (because/despite of the narrow space) is a big disadvantage as the centred opponent vanquished first as well. I began to wonder how bad I am at glesting so I set up a one on one encounter with a CPU Mega 2.5 Indian against my tribe. I did not survive. In the end I was just flooded by enemy units. Now, I play a against a CPU Ultra 1.5 Indian with my tribe and it looks like I am quite in control. My lines are not torn thin (yet). So touch wood.

My strategy changed from stressing technology over quantity of troops to quantity of troops over technology. Background of the initial decision is that I am no way as fast as CPU to control many units. I eventually found out about the pause and game speed button so this disadvantage has much less weight now allowing me to change my strategy.